Skip to main content

Electrical and computer engineering: Home

Electrical and computer engineering

Core databases

  • IEEE Xplore
    Full text of IEEE/IEE journals and magazines, conference proceedings, standards (active only), e-books, and courses
  • INSPEC
    Index to journal articles, conferences proceedings, dissertations, and books in physics, electrical and electronic engineering, computer engineering, information and communication technology, etc.
  • ACM Digital Library
    Full text source for journals, conference proceedings, special interest groups and upcoming conferences of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and other affiliated organizations
  • Compendex
    Index database providing references to journal articles, technical reports, conference proceedings across all engineering disciplines

Multidisciplinary databases

  • Scopus
    Index database providing references to journal articles and conference proceedings and allowing citation tracking
  • Web of Science
    Index database providing references to journal articles and conference proceedings and allowing citation tracking

Open access resources

Additional Databases

Sources for background information

If you are not sure what your topic is all about, look it up in a dictionary or encyclopedia. Start with:

 

Explore other reference sources from CRC Press at ENGnetBASE and ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE


Search McGIll Library's WorldCat Catalogue for more books:

  

You can search using words like - electrical, electric*, engineering, computer, control, system*, etc.

 

You can also browse the shelves within this call number range:

TK1-9971 Electrical engineering, Electronics, and Computer Engineering
    TK301-399 Electric meters
    TK452-454.4 Electric apparatus and materials. Electric circuits. Electric networks
    TK1001-1841 Production of electric energy or power. Power plants. Central stations
    TK2000-2891 Dynamoelectric machinery and auxiliaries including generators, motors, transformers
    TK2896-2985 Production of electricity by direct energy conversion
    TK3001-3521 Distribution or transmission of electric power
    TK4001-4102 Applications of electric power
    TK4125-4399 Electric lighting
    TK4601-4661 Electric heating
    TK5101-6720 Telecommunication including telegraphy, telephone, radio, radar, television
    TK7800-8360 Electronics
    TK7885-7895 Computer engineering. Computer hardware
    TK8300-8360 Photoelectronic devices (General)
    TK9001-9401 Nuclear engineering. Atomic power
    TK9900-9971 Electricity for amateurs. Amateur constructors' manuals 

   QA75.5-76.95 Electronic computers. Computer science
         QA76.75-76.765 Computer software

 

A large number of electrical and computer engineering books are available in electronic and can be accessed on the following platforms:

 

Visit more e-book platforms on the E-book packages (physical sciences and engineering topics) guide.

 

COLOMBO (interlibrary loan)

All McGill students and staff may order books, articles, and conference reports not available at McGill using COLOMBO. Or, suggest a purchase. We may be able to buy a copy for the Library.

Patents

  • Derwent Innovations Index
    Patent database on the Web of Science platform allowing searching by topic, inventor, assignee, title, International Patent Classification code, and Derwent Class code
  • USPTO Patent Search
    United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)'s patent database for granted patents and patent applications
  • CIPO Patent Search
    Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO)'  patent database providing granted patents and patent applications
  • WIPO Patent Search 
    World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)'s patent database providing international and national patent documents
  • Espacenet Patent Search
    European Patent Office (EPO)'s patent database providing patent documents worldwide, including Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) Search

 

Standards

  • ASTM standards
    Search ASTM standards online and retrieve the full text in Schulich Library's reference collection, call TA401 A653. Current edition available is 2016.

 

Technical reports​

 

Theses

 

LaTeX is a free document preparation system widely used in scientific writing for its advanced typesetting abilities with mathematical formulas, foreign characters, referencing and page layout.​

 

Citation management tools

Citation management software helps keep your references and full text articles organized in electronic format, and generates in-text citations and the reference list in your paper.

 

Style manuals

Many publishers require authors to prepare their manuscript using their selected style manuals. The following manuals are most frequently used by journals in electrical and computer engineering.

 

Books on writing research papers

 

Books for non-native English speakers

Open access journals

 

Writing Support 

The McGill Writing Centre offers a variety of services in support of your writing, including courses, workshops (Graphos), tutorials, and so on. 

 

Professional associations often organize activities and professional development events that represent the interest of the practitioners. You may find special interest groups to join after you become a member of the association.

Handy library services for your research:

 

Loading

Librarian

Jennifer Zhao's picture
Jennifer Zhao
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering
514-398-1273
Website / Blog Page

Questions?

Ask us!

Librarians are here to answer your questions and help you find what you are looking for.

Chat •  Email • Text • Phone

Resource Key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice