Skip to main content

Islamic manuscripts & rare books

Welcome - Merhaba - أهلا وسهلا - Hoşgeldiniz - خوش آمدید ! This guide details useful sources for the study of Islamic rare books and manuscripts. It focuses primarily on materials held at McGill, and projects realized by the Islamic Studies Library.

McGill Islamic manuscripts & rare books

Birnbaum, Eleazar. (2015). "Turkish Manuscripts at McGill University, Montreal, Canada". In Ottoman Turkish and Çaĝatay MSS in Canada: A Union Catalogue of the Four Collection. Leiden, The Netherlands: Brill.

Gacek, Adam. (1989). Arabic Calligraphy and the 'Herbal' of al-Ghâfiqî: A Survey of Arabic Manuscripts at McGill University. Fontanus vol.II, 37-53.

Gacek, Adam. (1990). Early Qur'anic Fragments. Fontanus vol.III, 45-64.

Gacek, Adam. (1991). A Collection of Qur'anic Codices. Fontanus vol. IV, 35-53.

Gacek, Adam and Ali Yaycioglu. (1998). Ottoman-Turkish Manuscripts in the Islamic Studies Library and Other Librarians of McGill University. Fontanus vol. X, 41-63.

Lowry, Glenn. "Persian_Manuscript_Leaves" (Unpublished. 1977).

Salamon, Anaïs. (2014). "Islamic Early Printed Books". In Jillian Tomm & Richard Virr (Eds.), Meetings with Books: Symposium on special collections in the 21st century. With a tribute to Raymond Klibansky & an illustrated survey of McGill Library special collections (pp. 170-171). Montreal, QC: McGill University Library.

Salamon, Anaïs. (2014). "Islamic Lithographs". In Jillian Tomm & Richard Virr (Eds.), Meetings with Books: Symposium on special collections in the 21st century. With a tribute to Raymond Klibansky & an illustrated survey of McGill Library special collections (pp. 122-123). Montreal, QC: McGill University Library.

Salamon, Anaïs. (forthcoming). Casey A. Wood's Islamic manuscripts in the McGill Libraries. In Dickenson, Victoria (Ed.), Casey A. Wood's collections in the McGill Libraries. McGill-Queens University Press.

Swanick, Sean. (2012). Abū Ḥāmid al-Ghazālī (1058-1111) : an exhibition held in the Humanities & Social Sciences Library, McGill University : August 15, 2011-March 31, 2012.

Swanick, Sean. 'Of making books there is no end: Islamic Manuscripts on the Web.' College & Research Libraries News, 72, no. 7 (2011): 416-419.

Swanick, Sean. (2014). "Arabic Calligraphy". In Jillian Tomm & Richard Virr (Eds.), Meetings with Books: Symposium on special collections in the 21st century. With a tribute to Raymond Klibansky & an illustrated survey of McGill Library special collections (pp. 174-175). Montreal, QC: McGill University Library.

Swanick, Sean. (2014). "Islamic Manuscripts". In Jillian Tomm & Richard Virr (Eds.), Meetings with Books: Symposium on special collections in the 21st century. With a tribute to Raymond Klibansky & an illustrated survey of McGill Library special collections (pp. 16-17). Montreal, QC: McGill University Library.

Swanick, Sean. (2014). "Persian Manuscripts". In Jillian Tomm & Richard Virr (Eds.), Meetings with Books: Symposium on special collections in the 21st century. With a tribute to Raymond Klibansky & an illustrated survey of McGill Library special collections (pp. 48-49). Montreal, QC: McGill University Library.

Treasures of Islam. Art and design in Islamic manuscripts (= Trésors de l'islam = Kunûz al-Islâm). CD-ROM. Montreal, QC: Graduate School of Library and Information Studies.

Watson, William J. "The C.A. Wood collection of Oriental manuscripts." A dictionary catalogue of the Blacker-Wood Library of Zoology and Ornithology. Boston, 1966: 681-684.

-----. "Ibrahim Müteferrika and Turkish incunabula." Journal of the American Oriental Society, 88, no. 3 (1968): 435-441.

RBD MS Persian 0020

MS RBD Persian 0020

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice