Skip to Main Content
Guidelines for Preparing Urban Plans by Larz Anderson
Call Number: HT167 A735 1995
Publication Date: 1995
"Citing examples from across the country, Larz Anderson shows how to prepare, review, adopt, and implement urban plans. He explains how to identify public needs and desires, analyze existing problems and opportunities, and augment long-range general plans with short-range district and function plans."
Urban Design Handbook by Urban Design Associates Staff
Call Number: NA9105 U73 2003
Publication Date: 2003
"...details the techniques and working methods of a major urban design and planning firm. Covering the process from basic principles to developed designs, the book outlines the range of project types and services that urban designers can offer and sets out a set of general operating guidelines and procedures for:
- Developing a master plan, including techniques for engaging citizens in the design process and technical analysis to evaluate the physical form of the neighborhood, centered on a design charrette with public participation;
- Preparing a pattern book to guide residential construction in a new traditional town, including the documentation of architectural and urban precedents in a form that can be used by architects and builders;
- Implementing contextual architectural design, including methods of applying the essential qualities of traditional architecture in many styles to modern programs and construction techniques."
Dictionary of Urbanism by Robert Cowan
Call Number: HT108.5 C69 2005
Publication Date: 2005
A dictionary of common terms in urban studies. Valuable to have at your side when reading scholarship in this discipline, especially when just starting out or coming to urban studies from another discipline.
Encyclopedia of the City by Roger W. Caves
Call Number: HT108.5 E63 2005
Publication Date: 2005
"...focuses on the key topics encountered by undergraduates and scholars in urban studies and allied fields."
Encyclopedia of Urban Planning by Arnold Whittick
Call Number: HT166 E5
Publication Date: 1974
While more recent encyclopedias are available, this one may be useful for gaining historical understanding of topics in urban planning and to track down references to obscure sources.
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies by Ray Hutchison
Publication Date: 2010
"Covers all aspects of cities, their suburbs, and other urban areas. Includes urban economics, urban planning, urban architecture, urban ecology, urban transportation systems, urban politics, and urban social relations."
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Rob Kitchin (Editor-In-Chief); Nigel Thrift (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2009
"...provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the discipline of human geography and its constituent, and related, subject areas."
Library Resources Key
- McGill users only
- Open access resource
- Free resource
- In-library-use only
- Catalogue record