Skip to main content

South Asian studies

Welcome - آداب - नमस्ते - خوش آمدید ! This guide focuses on sources for the study of South Asian Islam with a focus on Pakistan and India. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

Persian dictionaries

Aryanpour is an English to Persian dictionary helpful to translate texts and documents from one language to the other.

Dehkhoda (لغت نامه دهخدا) is accessible through Parsiwiki Project (پارسی ویکی) which is an online platform that developed and made accessible the dictionary of Dehkhoda. This dictionary is known to be the largest comprehensive Persian dictionary and was compiled by Ali Akbar Dehkhoda. It was first published in 1940 and later grew to 16 volumes. Each entry in this dictionary consists of a description, mode of usage, phonetics, examples and passages from Persian literature containing that entry. Moreover this dictionary includes words of other languages (Turkish, Mongolian, Hindi, Arabic, French, English, German, Russian etc.,) that are commonly used in Persian language.

Francis Joseph Steingass’ Persian Dictionary Online is an app developed by masnavi.net whose primary goal is to make the Masnavi of Jalāl al-Dīn Rūmī available to readers.

Sulayman Hayyim’ Persian Dictionary Online is designed to give the English meanings of over 50,000 words, terms, idioms, and proverbs in the Persian language, as well as the transliteration of the words in English characters. It is powered by the Digital South Asia Library, University of Chicago.

Tarjomeh / ترجمه  is a dictionary maintained by networks of Persian translators.

Vajehyab is an online comprehensive Persian language lexicon that searches over 20 different Persian languages dictionaries and recently added Arabic and English dictionaries. Vajehyab conducts searches in various dictionaries therefore the results can exceed definitions to include modes of usage, dictation, English and Arabic equivalents, and, if available, alternate meanings from different dialects of Iran.

Urdu dictionaries

John T. Platts’ Urdu Dictionary is made available online by the Digital South Asia Library, University of Chicago.

John Shakespear’s Urdu Dictionary is made available online by the Digital South Asia Library, University of Chicago.

Urdu Dictionary is a free tool powered by MediaWiki.

Urdu-English Dictionary is a free resource including more than 450,000 words.

Encyclopedias

The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes articles and book chapters, including many South Asian publications not covered by other databases. Browse journal lists to see the time periods covered.

Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd edition) is a unique and invaluable reference tool setting out the present state of knowledge of the Muslim World.

Encyclopaedia of Islam (THREE) is an entirely new work reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship on the Muslim World, including Islam in the 20th century and Muslim minorities all over the world.

Historical Abstracts covers a broad range of topics including references to South Asian studies.

Index Islamicus is an international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on Islam and the Muslim World.

Modern Language Association International Bibliography contains citations to critical works on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

CrossAsia (University of Heidelberg) is an information gateway for South Asia Studies, which offers you a comprehensive access to professionally selected and annotated internet resources as well as other scientific information.

South Asia Research Documentation Services 3 /SARDS3 (Universities of Bonn, Halle & Munich) is an electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc.

COVID 19 | Temporary Open & Free Resources

Please consult our Special COVID-19: Islamic, Middle East and South Asian studies Open resources subject guide created to provide Islamic, Middle Eastern and South Asian studies Faculty and Students with alternatives to the print collections that are currently unavailable. This list will be updated weekly to include newly published or opened resources.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website Skype Contact: anais.salamon@mcgill.ca

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice