Guides: South Asian History: Get Started

Get Started

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks offer generalist information that may be useful in learning more about a topic or beginning research. The links below offer resources for South Asian history.

Middle East, North Africa & South Asia history
by Anaïs Salamon Last Updated Aug 7, 2024 14 views this year
South Asian studies
by Anaïs Salamon Last Updated Aug 7, 2024 7 views this year

General Resources

The New Cambridge History of India
Designed to take full account of recent scholarship and changing conceptions of South India's historical development, The New Cambridge History of India is published as a series of short, self-contained volumes, each dealing with a separate theme within an overall four-part structure.
Dictionary of Asian Mythology (Oxford)
This is an A-Z dictionary of mythologies of the Asian continent. Major characters, places and events of Asian mythology, as well as certain relevant themes and cultural traditions are included.
Oxford Encyclopaedia of the Music of India
The most authoritative reference on the subject, this encyclopedia covers classical, folk, film, and other musical forms in India.

A Political and Economic Dictionary of South Asia by Subrata K. Mitra; Jivanta Schottli; Siegried Wolf
Publication Date: 2006
A definitive guide to the economics and politics of South Asia, this title provides clear definitions detailing terms, concepts, names and organizations used in relation to current economic and political affairs in the region.
A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy: Sanskrit terms defined in English by John A. Grimes
Call Number: B131 G67 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Containing over 500 new listings of frequently used religious terms and numerous etymological derivations, this new and revised edition of A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy provides a comprehensive dictionary of Indian philosophical terms in both devanagari and roman transliteration along with an English translation.
Birks Reading Room Reference Collection

Liaison Librarian

Kristen Howard

she/her

Email me

Subjects: Classical studies, History, Indigenous studies

South Asian History

Get Started

General Resources

Liaison Librarian

Need help? Ask us!