South Asian Studies | databases

This digital resource allows students and researchers to access primary source documents from the India Office Records held by the British Library: Module 1: Trade, governance and Empire, 1600-1947 -- Module 2: Factory records for South Asia and South-East Asia -- Module 3: Factory records for China, Japan and the Middle East -- Module 4: Correspondence: Early Voyages, Formation and Conflict -- Module 5: Correspondence: Domestic Life, Governance and Territorial Expansion.

"All of the titles in this portal have been carefully screened against other eighteenth century academic resources to ensure that there is minimal overlap. Resources checked include: Primary Source Media’s microfilm collection Early English Newspapers; Chadwyck-Healey’s Early English Books Online (EEBO); Gale’s 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and The Burney Collection; and Proquest’s British Periodicals." See Nature and Scope.

"Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the rise and fall of colonial empires from the explorations of Columbus and Captain Cook, the missionary movement and the exhibitions of the 19th century, to decolonisation in the second half of the 20th century and debates over American imperialism. A broad selection of letter books, periodicals, travel writings and more have been selected from leading archives around the world, including the British Library, providing valuable insight into the key events and themes of the European colonial period"--Adam Matthew

"These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980."--Introduction

"Drawing upon the wonderfully rich manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the history of South Asia from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 through to the independence of India and Pakistan in 1947. The material comprises diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches and paintings, alongside histories and literary works written by Indian people."--Introduction

Videos of music and dance, accompanied by supplemental text:
- Volume 11, South Asia I: India 1 --- Volume 12, South Asia II: India 2 -- Volume 13, South Asia III: India 3 -- Volume 14, South Asia IV: Pakistan & Bangladesh -- Volume 15, South Asia V: Sri Lanka, Nepal & Bhutan

The Center for Research Libraries' "South Asia Materials Project (SAMP) acquires and maintains a readily accessible digital and microform collection of unique materials related to the study of South Asia. Materials are collected both through the project’s duplication efforts and through the purchase of materials preserved by other groups, institutions, and companies."--About SAMP. Click the link above to browse the SAMP collection. To find out the history and scope of SAMP, click here.

"South Asian Newspapers features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka) ... The collection will provide more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922"--Center for Research Libraries.

Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents:
- Afghanistan in 1919 : the Third Anglo-Afghan War
- Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
- India From Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records Of The US State Department
- India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the US State Department February 1963-1966
- Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920
- Pakistan from Crown Rule to Republic: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949
- The War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824

"With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements."-- About This Archive

Provides open access to historical and contemporary sources (newspapers, serials, and journals; colonial reports, censuses, and government documents; works of art, history, and literature; studies in economics, politics, and social structure; reference works, dictionaries, and manuscripts) from and about South Asia in arts, humanities, social sciences, history of science, and other fields in English and other South Asian languages.

The titles included under this heading are: Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1839-1859) -- The Bombay Times and Standard (1860-1861) -- The Times of India (1861-[2003]).

This archive provides "a primary source digital collection of South Asian historic materials from the 1700s to 1950s. It includes materials related to most subjects, with most sources in English and some in languages including Hindi and Bangla/Bengali"--Ridgway, A. (2023). South Asia Archive. The Charleston Advisor, 24(4), 64–68. https://doi.org/10.5260/chara.24.4.64 *Go to Module Guide where you can download the Bibliography (,.xlsx), Overview, and Teaching Resources (primary source reading lists, and examples of essay questions and seminar topics).

Research guide for sources in South Asian history. It includes many of the resources mentioned above, and many more.

This guide focuses on sources for the study of South Asian Islam with a focus on Pakistan and India. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

The guide "features the strengths of the CRL's holdings" in Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. *McGill faculty and students can access the CRL digital and analog collection through the McGill Library.

At the bottom of the page are links to LC's collections of print and electronic resources pertaining to South Asia. Check out "Free Databases and E-Resources" on the South Asian Subscription Databases and Free Electronic Resources guide.