Religious Studies

Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 CE to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

This database includes digitized versions of most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453, creating a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
McGill users have access to the full corpus, but you must first create an account (click "Register" in the top right corner).

A uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.

A uniquely valuable resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. With 845 titles by 277 authors, the collection is a treasury of theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, social and political works, sermons, letters, polemical treatises, and other key documents from this critical epoch in European history.

Online collection of works by Karl Barth (1886-1968), Swiss Reformed theologian, in association with the Theologischer Verlag Zürich (TVZ) and Princeton Theological Seminary.

Focused on printed and visual primary source materials from the past 500 years for the study of 'Empire', this database includes a section focused on 'Religion and Empire' including missions in South Asia, the Pacific, and Southern Africa.

A rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organisation, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today. It includes records of both the Church Missionary Society and the many other missionary societies which have become associated or amalgamated with it over its lifetime.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

These primary sources are a resource for the study of missionary work, educational work, medical work, evangelism, political conflict, and the emergence of indigenous churches. The collections are truly global in scope, with Africa, East and South Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, and the Americas all well-represented. The sources will be of interest to scholars in a range of fields, from missiology to colonial history and anthropology.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Digital archive collections sourced from libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library. Contents covers 1800s to 1980s, consisting of monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, historical photos, and ephemera. Includes English-language missionary periodicals published 1817–1949.

Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Religions of America traces the history and unique character of religious movements that originated in or were re-shaped by the United States during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.