Guides: Religious Studies: Find Articles

Religious Studies Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. Coverage begins in 1949 with some earlier indexing. Full text for many citations. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Index Religiosus : international Bibliography of Theology, Church History and Religious Studies (Brepols)
- This link opens in a new window
From landing page, click on Index Religiosus. Bibliography of academic publications in the fields of theology, religious sciences, and Church history. It is a gateway to books and articles written in major European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Portuguese, etc.).
Index Islamicus (Brill)
- This link opens in a new window
Index Islamicus Online is an international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. The Index Islamicus Online provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense.

Open Access Digital Theological Library
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.

Other Relevant Databases

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index is the premiere bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all subject areas of philosophy. It contains works on philosophy from both philosophy and interdisciplinary sources.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Access to selected e-book content from University Presses.
To access the text-mining option see JSTOR Data for Research
FRANCIS - Humanities and Social Sciences (CNRS)
Access to more than 20 million references (articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports and thesis) in exact sciences and technology, in biological and medical sciences, in art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences.
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450 on, excluding Canada and the United States.
Eight Centuries (Paratext)
- This link opens in a new window
Eight Centuries is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering principally the areas of humanities and the social sciences on the East, Southeast, and South Asia. Abstracts published worldwide from 1971 to present.
Jewish Studies Source (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Resource containing full text journals, monographs and related titles, and 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews.

Liaison Librarian

David Greene

Email me

Contact:

Humanities & Social Sciences Library

514-398-5925

Subjects: Architecture, Art history, Communication studies, Religious studies, Urban planning

Legend

McGill users only
Open access resource
Free resource
In-library use (resources only accessible in branch)
Catalogue record (used when linking to catalogue record)