Political Science

"There are now almost 9,000 biographies on this website, comprising the complete contents of volumes I to XV, which describe the lives of those whose deaths or whose last-known activities occurred in the years 1000 to 1930." Browseable by Region of Birth; Region of Activities; Occupations and Other Identifiers; Name of Subject A-Z.

The Canada Year Book is the premier reference on the social and economic life of Canada and its citizens. This publication has been discontinued as of April 2013. The last issue of this publication was November 2012.

Published between 1991-2005. The series offers "commentary on important national events and considers their significance in local and international contexts. Supplemented by a detailed calendar and name indexes, the volume is a reliable, easy-access reference on the political scene in Canada."--Publisher

"In more than 1,600 entries, the country's leading historians describe and analyse events in political, military, social, economic, cultural, and intellectual history, drawing on the latest scholarship. Topics such as gambling, potlatches, abortion, hockey, capital punishment, jackatars, and shipwrecks find a place alongside more traditional entries like prime ministers and suffragists, exploration and fur trade, railways and responsible government. Politicians, soldiers, scientists and industrialists, feminists, social activists and religious leaders, all make an appearance."--Publisher

See also other titles in the Canada and international affairs series.

- Canadian Foreign Policy
- Comparative Politics of North America
- Immigrant Incorporation in Canada

"Érudit is a publishing platform for scholarly and cultural journals, books, proceedings, theses, documents, and data developed by a nonprofit Canadian publishing consortium founded in 1998. Archival runs of journal publications published prior to a moving wall of current content are available through open access, while the remainder is available through subscription"--CRL eDesiderata

Bibliographic database produced by Services documentaires Multimedia in collaboration with the Bibliothèque nationale du Québec. Repère provides indexing to French-language periodicals published from 1980 onwards. Includes journals originating from francophone countries: Québec, other Canadian provinces, France, Belgium, Switzerland. Covers all subject fields: art, current news, literature, politics, social sciences, etc. Also provides full-text to articles from some Quèbec periodicals and links to others.

The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.

Canadian Research Index includes federal, provincial, and municipal documents such as depository publications of research value; non-depository publications; scientific and technical report literature; policy, social, economic, and political reports; Statistics Canada monographs, and serials. Dates of coverage are 1900-2018.

This library guide, created by Michelle Lake, Government Publications Librarian, provides links to Government of Canada websites.

"Grey House Publishing Canada is a database publisher and its flagship directory, Canadian Almanac & Directory, published since 1847, remains the major resource for authoritative information that Canadian libraries, government offices and businesses have come to rely on for statistics, demographics and contact information."--About Us

The official website of Elections Canada, the independent, non-partisan agency responsible for conducting federal elections and referendums.