If you are collecting references for a project, looking for information on how to cite within a particular discipline, or interested in using software to collect and automatically format your in-text citations and bibliography in the proper citation style, the following pages may be of use:
If you are writing a paper for a course, ask your professors what citation style they recommend. If you are publishing a journal article in the health sciences, consult the instructions for authors database or the journal website to find out what citation style they require your references to be formatted in.
Occupational Health and Safety for the 21st Century by
This comprehensive examination of occupational health and safety explores hazardous agents found in the occupational environment, reviews their potential health effects, and identifies procedures for prevention of occupational illnesses and injuries. In 10 chapters, Occupational Health and Safety for the 21st Century first takes the reader through a detailed history of occupational health and safety efforts since Ancient Greece. It then examines each of the occupationally associated diseases and their epidemiology, including cancers, respiratory diseases, fertility and pregnancy abnormalities, hearing loss, infectious diseases, injuries and fatalities, and job stress. The final chapters examine prevention programs and research methods for this rapidly evolving field. Designed for undergraduate students across a broad spectrum of health and safety disciplines the book presents concepts in an accessible and engaging style. Key Features: Engaging, real-world vignettes in each chapter Loaded with charts, tables, and figures illustrating the most current data in the field Offers thorough coverage of occupational health policy, epidemiology, toxicology, chemical hazards, psychosocial aspects of work, and prevention efforts Student & Instructor Resources: This text comes packaged with Navigate 2 Advantage Access, a comprehensive package of mobile-ready course materials including: Learn: A complete eBook with interactive tools Practice: A virtual Study Center with robust practice activities and flashcards Assess: A homework and testing Assessment center with prepopulated quizzes and examinations Analyze: Dashboards with learner and educator views that reports actionable data
Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology
This link opens in a new window
Physical and Biological Hazards of the Workplace by
Completely updated version this classic reference covers both physical hazards and biological agents Provides updated information on protecting workers from proven and possible health risks from manual material handling, extremes of temperature and pressure, ionizing and non-ionizing (magnetic fields) radiation, shiftwork, and more Details major changes in our understanding of biological hazards including Ebola, Chikungunya, Zika, HIV, Hepatitis C, Lyme disease, MERS-CoV, TB, and much more All infectious diseases have been updated from an occupational health perspective Includes practical guidance on to how to set up medical surveillance for hazards and suggests preventive measures that can be used to reduce occupational diseases
Contains 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites and to the McGill Find Full Text linkresolver.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowCurated abstract and citation database, updated daily with enriched data and linked scholarly content for Health, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Worldwide peer-reviewed literature includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFull-text of dissertations from McGill University as well as 3,100 worldwide universities. Full-text PDFs available for all non-embargoed dissertations and theses from 1997 – forward, with select full text available prior to 1997.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
This link opens in a new windowIndex database for psychology. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
* Quick reference guide - How to search PsycINFO
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
