Clinical Guidelines in Neonatology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The first neonatal handbook to focus on clinical protocols and best management practices Clinical Guidelines in Neonatology provides a compilation of the most current and authoritative clinical care recommendations for the neonatal patient. The goals of this innovative text are to help deliver effective, evidence-based neonatal care; foster consensus in practice; and to enable clinicians to deliver the best value for every healthcare dollar spent. Readers will find it to be a comprehensive source of clinical recommendations, care paths, and guidelines to help them manage the most commonly encountered neonatal conditions. Spanning all major areas of neonatal care, Clinical Guidelines in Neonatology bypasses dense explanations in favor of high yield text and ready-to-apply evidence-based management guidelines. Chapters follow a uniform presentation of neonatal conditions that include the scope, major recommendations, implementation of guidelines into practice, summary, and bibliographic sources. Features: * Chapters focus on clinical management practices and evidence-based supporting data rather than lengthy descriptions of disease and practice * Covers all major areas of neonatal and perinatal medicine, including antenatal and perinatal management; neonatal transition; nutrition, fluids, and electrolytes; respiratory distress; cardiovascular disorders; blood disorders; infections; endocrine and metabolic disorders; and neurological issues * Text is supplemented by evidence-based diagnostic and treatment algorithms, detailed illustrations, and clinical images
This link opens in a new window
Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine by
Trusted by physicians and advanced practice providers through ten standard-setting editions, Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, 11th Edition, remains the reference of choice for expert, multidisciplinary guidance on the management and evidence-based treatment of problems in the mother, fetus, and neonate. An expanded team of international authors, led by Drs. Richard J. Martin, Avroy A. Fanaroff, and Michele C. Walsh of Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital, brings you up to date with advances in the control of nosocomial infections in preterm infants, genetic disorders and birth defects, the fetal origins of adult disease, the late preterm infants, and much more - all designed to help you improve the quality of life and long-term outcomes of your patients. Helps you make informed clinical choices for each patient - from diagnosis and treatment selection through post-treatment strategies and management of complications - with a dual focus on neonatology and perinatology. Includes a new chapter on Social and Economic Contributors to Neonatal Outcome. Features extensive updates and reorganization throughout, with new Key Points at the end of each chapter Provides up-to-date, evidence-based content, with more information on precision medicine and genetics. Uses detailed, full-color illustrations that depict disorders in the clinical setting and explain complex information. Offers indexing in both volumes that provides quick access to specific guidance. Remains the most comprehensive, multidisciplinary text in the field - an excellent source of information for every stage of your practice.
This link opens in a new window
Fetal and Neonatal Physiology, 2-Volume Set by
Offering the comprehensive, authoritative information needed for effective diagnosis, treatment, and management of sick and premature infants, Fetal and Neonatal Physiology, 6th Edition, is an invaluable resource for board review, clinical rounds, scientific research, and day-to-day practice. This trusted two-volume text synthesizes recent advances in the field into definitive guidance for today's busy practitioner, focusing on the basic science needed for exam preparation and key information required for full-time practice. It stands alone as the most complete text available in this complex and fast-changing field, yet is easy to use for everyday application. Offers definitive guidance on how to effectively manage the many health problems seen in newborn and premature infants. Contains new chapters on Pathophysiology of Genetic Neonatal Disease, Genetic Variants and Neonatal Disease, and Developmental Biology of Lung Stem Cells, as well as significantly revised chapters on Cellular Mechanisms of Neonatal Brain Injury, Neuroprotective Therapeutic Hypothermia, Enteric Nervous System Development and Gastrointestinal Motility, and Physiology of Twin-Twin Transfusion. Features 1,000 full-color diagrams, graphs and anatomic illustrations, 170+ chapters, and more than 350 global contributors. Includes chapters devoted to clinical correlation that help explain the implications of fetal and neonatal physiology, as well as clinical applications boxes throughout. Provides summary boxes at the end of each chapter and extensive cross-referencing between chapters for quick reference and review. Allows you to apply the latest insights on genetic therapy, intrauterine infections, brain protection and neuroimaging, and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
This link opens in a new window
Fetal and Neonatal Secrets by
Fetal and Neonatal Secrets by Drs. Richard Polin and Alan Spitzer, uses the success formula of the highly popular Secrets Series to offer fast answers to the most essential clinical questions in fetal and neonatal medicine. With its user-friendly Q&A format, practical tips from neonatologists and fetal medicine experts, and "Key Points" boxes, this portable and easy-to-read medical reference book provides rapid access to the practical knowledge you need to succeed both in practice and on board and recertification exams. "Fetal and Neonatal Secrets is a book with an alternative setup that offers answers to a wide spectrum of clinical questions in the field of fetal and neonatal medicine. The book covers both fetal and neonatal medicine, and could be relevant for junior doctors aiming to become obstetricians or pediatricians." Reviewed by: Acta Obstetricia et Gynecologica Scandinavica, January 2015 Get the evidence-based guidance you need to provide optimal care for your fetal and neonatal patients. Zero in on key fetal and neonatal information with a question and answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from the authors. Enhance your reference power with a two-color page layout, "Key Points" boxes, and lists of useful websites. Review essential material efficiently with the "Top 100 Secrets in Fetal and Neonatal Medicine" - perfect for last-minute study or self-assessment. Apply all the latest pediatric advances in clinical fetal neonatology techniques, technology, and pharmacology
This link opens in a new windowSee additional textbooks on Neonatology via AccessPediatrics
Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology by
Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology, Fifth Edition Neonatal intensive care demands sound decision-making and rapid responses. By blending the illustrative power of an atlas with detailed, stepwise procedural descriptions, this practical resource covers a range of technique-specific interventions and prepares you for the challenges of the neonatal intensive care nursery. Speed response time, prevent errors, and improve outcomes for your youngest patients! * Expert guidance from noted experts highlights each step of each procedure, helping to minimize errors and promote safe practice standards.* Three animations offer stepwise visual guidance on exchange transfusion, emergency evacuation of air leaks, and endotracheal intubation.* Over 150 color photographs clarify important principles, problems, and complications.* Video clips address both common neonatal care procedures, such as umbilical line placement, PICC placement, and endotracheal intubation, and vital emergency procedures such as exchange transfusion and cardiac paracentesis infrequently performed. NEW to the Fifth Edition... * New chapters keep you current with the latest developments in Brain and Whole Body Cooling, Bubble CPAP, and Educational Principles of Simulation Based Procedure Training.* Expanded video collection includes lumbar puncture, radial artery puncture, intraosseous infusion, bubble CPAP, and pericardiocentesis.* Online companion website lets you access fully searchable text, image bank, and videos anytime, anywhere.
This link opens in a new window
Neonatology: Clinical Practice and Procedures by
Understand the fundamental principles of neonatology and learn evidence-based care strategies With coverage that strikes the perfect balance between proven management approaches and fundamental principles, this unique resource combines the benefits of a comprehensive neonatology textbook with a practical procedural guide. You will get a detailed step-by-step instruction on diagnosis, management, and treatment of acute problems of the newborn as organized by organ system, based on the highest level of evidence available, along with a thorough review of topics such as epidemiology, ethics, legal issues in the NICU, monitoring devices, fluid requirements, and enteral nutrition. Features A full-color presentation that includes hundreds of figures and tables An emphasis on proven care strategies for improved outcomes Detailed procedural instruction An organ-system approach when discussing neonatal disorders A practical approach to all topics with detailed management approaches and procedures Neonatology: Clinical Practice and Procedures will prove to be an outstanding refresher for any clinician involved in the diagnosis and management of newborn infants and a valuable instructional guide for junior staff and residents.
This link opens in a new window
Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn by
A clear, engaging writing style, hundreds of full-color images, and new information throughout make Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn, 6th Edition, an indispensable resource for those who provide care for neonates with neurological conditions. World authority Dr. Joseph Volpe, along with Dr. Terrie E. Inder and other distinguished editors, continue the unparalleled clarity and guidance you've come to expect from the leading reference in the field - keeping you up to date with today's latest advances in diagnosis and management, as well as the many scientific and technological advances that are revolutionizing neonatal neurology. Features a brand new, full-color design with hundreds of new figures, tables, algorithms, and micrographs. Includes two entirely new chapters: Neurodevelopmental Follow-Up and Stroke in the Newborn; a new section on Neonatal Seizures; and an extensively expanded section on Hypoxic-Ischemia and Other Disorders. Showcases the experience and knowledge of a new editorial team, led by Dr. Joseph Volpe and Dr. Terrie E. Inder, Chair of the Department of Pediatric Newborn Medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital, all of whom bring a wealth of insight to this classic text. Offers comprehensive updates from cover to cover to reflect all of the latest information regarding the development of the neural tube; prosencephalic development; congenital hydrocephalus; cerebellar hemorrhage; neuromuscular disorders and genetic testing; and much more. Uses an improved organization to enhance navigation. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neonatal and Infant Dermatology by
Neonatal and Infant Dermatology is a unique comprehensive and heavily illustrated reference on the dermatologic diseases of newborns and infants. It includes discussions of common and uncommon conditions seen in infants at birth and in the first few months of life. With over 600 superb photographs of normal and abnormal skin conditions including images of rare conditions, this easily accessible resource is essential for pediatricians, neonatologists, and dermatologists as well as other healthcare professionals involved in the diagnosis and treatment of dermatologic diseases in infants and newborns.Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Get the depth of coverage you need to effectively diagnose skin conditions in neonates and infants. Expedite effective differential diagnoses with guidance from algorithms, lists, text, boxes and supporting images. Benefit from the experience of over 60 contributors from around the world lead by Drs. Lawrence F. Eichenfield and Ilona J. Frieden, two of the most important names in the fields of dermatology and pediatrics.Glean all essential, up-to-date, need-to-know information with new chapters on Papulosquamous and Lichenoid Disorders, Acneiform and Sweat-gland disorders and two individual chapters on Vascular Malformations and Vascular Tumors. See what to expect and how to proceed with new, high-quality illustrations and photos that provide even more visual examples of abnormal and normal conditions.
This link opens in a new window
Gastroenterology and nutrition: Neonatology questions and controversies by
Dr. Richard Polin's Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the most challenging aspects of neonatal care, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today's practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient. Stay fully up to date in this fast-changing field with Gastroenterology and Nutrition, 3rd Edition. Emerging knowledge about the basic developmental physiology of upper intestinal motility as it relates to reflux and feeding tolerance, and immaturities in motility by altering composition of feedings and pharmacologic means. New content on genetics and pharmacology, the role of inflammation in systemic diseases in other organs as well as necrotizing enterocolitis, optimizing administration of lipids to preterm infants, and administering lipids to infants who are at high risk for complications secondary to suboptimal lipid therapies. Current coverage of the composition of human milk and clinical trials that address the efficacy of donor milk in comparison to formula and own mother's milk. Consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily. The most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 7-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Gastroenterology and Nutrition Hematology, Immunology and Genetics Hemodynamics and Cardiology Infectious Disease and Pharmacology New Volume! Nephrology and Fluid/Electrolyte Physiology Neurology The Newborn Lung
Goldsmith's Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate by
A must-have reference for the entire NICU, Goldsmith's Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate, 7th Edition, is the only fully comprehensive, evidence-based guide to all aspects of this fast-changing field. Easy to use and multidisciplinary in scope, this trusted reference provides authoritative guidance on contemporary management of neonatal respiratory diseases, with an emphasis on evidence-based pharmacologic and technologic advances that improve outcomes and quality of life in newborns. It's an outstanding resource for neonatologists and NICU professionals to acquire new knowledge and techniques in this critical area of neonatal care. Covers all aspects of both basic and advanced respiratory management of neonates: general principles and concepts; assessment, diagnosis and monitoring methods; therapeutic respiratory interventions; adjunctive interventions; and special situations and outcomes. Provides updated content on rapidly changing technology and guidelines for assisted ventilation, with up-to-date descriptions of bedside methodologies and the rationale for providing all types of ventilator care in infants. Contains new chapters on respiratory gas conditioning, diagnosis and management of PPHN, care of the infant with CDH, gaps in knowledge, and future directions. Includes significant updates on cardiovascular assessment and management, as well as complications of respiratory support. Provides extensive, full-color visual support with photographs, drawings, charts and diagrams, and radiographic images throughout. Features more than 30 appendices that help you quickly find normal values, assessment charts, ICU flow charts, procedure steps and other useful, printable forms. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Newborn lung : Neonatology Questions and Controversies by
Molecular bases for lung development, injury, and repair / Shu Wu -- Perinatal events and their influence on lung development and injury / Suhas G. Kallapur and Alan H. Jobe -- Vascular development and neonatal pulmonary circulation / Robin H. Steinhorn -- The omics of the new BPD / Namasivayam Ambalavanan, Charitharth Vivek Lal and Vineet Bhandari -- Role of microbiome in lung injury / Namasivayam Ambalavanan and Rose M. Viscardi -- Definitions and diagnostic criteria of bronchopulmonary dysplasia : clinical and research implications / Eduardo Bancalari, Nelson Claure, Alan Jobe, Matthew Laughon -- Patent ductus arteriosus and the lung : acute effects and long-term consequences / Martin Kluckow, Eduardo Bancalari, Ilene R.S. Sosenko, Nelson Claure -- Ventilator-associated pneumonia / Thomas A. Hooven and Richard A. Polin -- Long-term pulmonary outcome of preterm infants / Lex Doyle and Jeanie Cheong -- Respiratory and cardiovascular support in the delivery room / Gary M. Weiner, Stuart B. Hooper, Peter G. Davis, Myra H. Wyckoff -- Noninvasive ventilation of preterm infants : an alternative to mechanical ventilation / Brett J. Manley -- Newer strategies for surfactant delivery / Peter Dargaville -- Respiratory control and apnea in premature infants / Richard J. Martin, Vidhi Shah and Juliann Di Fiore -- Oxygenation instability in the premature infant / Nelson Claure, Richard Martin, Juliann Di Fiore, Eduardo Bancalari -- Optimal oxygenation in extremely preterm infants / Waldemar A. Carlo -- Patient ventilator interaction / Nelson Claure, Eduardo Bancalari and Martin Keszler -- Pulmonary-cardiovascular interaction / Shahab Noori -- Ventilator strategies to reduce lung injury and duration of mechanical ventilation / Nelson Claure and Martin Keszler -- Automation of respiratory support / Nelson Claure, Martin Keszler and Eduardo Bancalari -- Pre and post natal steroids and pulmonary outcomes / Alan H. Jobe -- Cell based therapy for neonatal lung diseases / Karen C Young, Bernard Thebaud, Won Soon -- Management of the infant with severe bronchopulmonary dysplasia / Leif D. Nelin, Steven Abman and Howard Panitch.
This link opens in a new window
Essential clinical skills in pediatrics : a practical guide to history taking and clinical examination by 
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowIndex database for psychology. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
* Quick reference guide - How to search PsycINFO
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window"Covers aspects related to human health including communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants. Includes foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material. 1910 to present."
10 simultaneous users.
This link opens in a new windowPubMed search strategy: ("Infant, Newborn"[Mesh] OR neonat*[ti] OR newborn*[ti]) AND (guideline*[ti] OR guidance[ti] OR recommendation*[ti] OR consensus[ti] OR statement[ti] OR Practice Guideline[ptyp])
UpToDate (Tip sheet)
Lexicomp - available through the MUHC (not available to McGill users who are non-MUHC)
BrowZine - e-journal browser. Access and read e-journal articles
See also: The Life Sciences Mobile Guide
McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
Journal of Maternal-Fetal & Neonatal Medicine