Skip to main content

Music e-book Collections

COVID-19 CLOSURE

Further to Quebec government and university directives, McGill campuses are currently closed. As a result, all library branches are closed until further notice. Library staff will continue to provide virtual reference during service hoursFor more information about the closure, please visit our COVID -19 | Library Closure & Service Disruptions FAQ.

Welcome! Use this guide for direct access to the sites of many of McGill Library's e-book providers.

Search the Library's Sofia Discovery tool

 

Note: Not all resources can be found through this search tool (catalogue).

Consult the resources on this and other guides to access additional sources.

Music e-book collections

  • ACLS Humanities Ebooks (American Council of Learned Societies collection of approximately 5,000 titles)
  • Brill Online
  • Cambridge Core (Browse the music titles)
  • Cambridge Companions to Music (Cambridge Companions to Music provide authoritative yet accessible information on composers, genres, instruments and other musical topics, written with the student, performer and general music lover in mind)
  • Duke University (Archives (pre-2008) to 2017. Browse the music titles)
  • EBSCOhost (Multi-publisher platform)
  • ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Significant English and foreign-language books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera printed in UK, and "important works" from the Americas, 1701-1800)
  • EEBO: Early English Books Online (All books published in England and books in English printed in Scotland, Ireland, Wales and British North America, 1475-1700)
  • Google Books (A repository of digitized texts provided by "library partners" and participating publishers. Full text is available for materials in the public domain. Access to items under copyright varies from full text to "no preview" depending on agreements with the copyright holders)
  • HathiTrust 
    • A not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items
    • Offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection 
    • Search the collection in several ways: catalogue record and full-text across the collection or within a single item 
    • HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service available during COVID-19 pandemic closure
  • IEEE Electronic Library Online (IEEEXplore) (Engineering)
  • Internet Archive 
    • Digital collection of public domain materials, including archives and published media from university collections around the world
    • Includes sound recordings, scores, books, and other materials
    • Public domain materials can be downloaded
    • Offers full-text searching within documents and across the collection
  • JSTOR 
    • Provides full-text access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines
    • Advanced search function allows users to filter by item type, language, publication date, journal or publication title, and discipline
  • Oxford Bibliographies: Music
    • Book-length bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations
    • Interface guides users directly to relevant information; provides personalized citation lists and links to full-text print and online content
    • Bibliographies are written and reviewed by academic experts
  • Oxford Handbooks Online: Music 
    • Handbooks offer thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship

    • Covers a wide range of music research including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, pedagogy, dance, and technology
    • Video tutorial demonstrates the resource's key features and provides search tips: https://www.oxfordhandbooks.com/page/take-a-tour
  • Oxford University Press Online (UPSO, OUP)
  • Project Muse (E-books from nearly 100 scholarly presses (see complete list)). Browse the music titles)
  • ProQuest Ebook Central (Multi-publisher platform)
  • Safari (Technology and business)
  • Skillsoft (Formerly Books24X7; Technology)
  • Springer (Science, technology, medicine, music etc. including Palgrave)
  • Taylor & Francis (Multi-publisher platform including Ashgate, Focal, Routledge, etc.) 
  • University of California Press Scholarship Editions (Browse the open access music titles. See also UPSO below)
  • UPSO: University Press Scholarship Online (E-book distributor of several university presses (see complete list) including Oxford, University of California, and University of Chicago. Browse the music titles)

 

Location and contacts

Music Library Staff's picture
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4692
Website
Subjects:Music

Librarian

Cathy Martin's picture
Cathy Martin
Contact:
527 Sherbrooke St. W, A-317, Montreal, QC, H3A 1E3
514-398-5874
Website

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice