Guides: Modern European History: Get Started

Get Started

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks offer generalist information that may be useful in learning more about a topic or beginning research. The links below offer resources for modern European and British history.

General Resources

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Alan Charles Kors
Publication Date: 2002
Over 700 articles focused on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment, including continental Europe, England, Scotland, and Eastern European Cultures.
A-Z of Modern Europe Since 1789 by Martin Polley
Publication Date: 2003
A comprehensive, concise dictionary which defines modern Europe through its important events and people.
The Wiley-Blackwell Dictionary of Modern European History Since 1789 by Nicholas Atkin; Michael Biddiss; Frank Tallett
Publication Date: 2011
Authoritative and accessible reference guide to the major people, events, and issues that have shaped the development of Europe from the French Revolution to the present day.
The Oxford Handbook of Postwar European History by Dan Stone (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Includes articles on the diplomatic, political, institutional, economic, and social history of postwar Europe (after 1945). Covering all of Europe with a notable focus on Eastern Europe.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.

Liaison Librarian

Kristen Howard

she/her

Email me

Subjects: Classical studies, History, Indigenous studies, Religious studies

Modern European History

Get Started

General Resources

Liaison Librarian

Need help? Ask us!