Brock Biology of Microorganisms by Michael T. Madigan; Kelly S. Bender; Daniel H. Buckley; W. Matthew Sattley; David A. StahlFor courses in General Microbiology. A streamlined approach to master microbiology Brock Biology of Microorganisms is the leading majors microbiology text on the market. It sets the standard for impeccable scholarship, accuracy, and strong coverage of ecology, evolution, and metabolism. The 15th edition seamlessly integrates the most current science, paying particular attention to molecular biology and the genomic revolution. It introduces a flexible, more streamlined organization with a consistent level of detail and comprehensive art program. Brock Biology of Microorganisms helps students quickly master concepts, both in and outside the classroom, through personalized learning, engaging activities to improve problem solving skills, and superior art and animations with Mastering(tm) Microbiology. Also available with Mastering Microbiology. Mastering(tm) Microbiology is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment product designed to improve results by helping students quickly master concepts. Students benefit from self-paced tutorials that feature personalized wrong-answer feedback and hints that emulate the office-hour experience and help keep students on track. With a wide range of interactive, engaging, and assignable activities, students are encouraged to actively learn and retain tough course concepts. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Microbiology, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering(tm) Microbiology does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Microbiology, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and Mastering Microbiology, search for: 0134268660 / 9780134268668 Brock Biology of Microorganisms Plus Mastering Microbiology with eText -- Access Card Package, 15/e Package consists of: 0134261925 / 9780134261928 Brock Biology of Microorganisms 0134603974 / 9780134603971 Mastering Microbiology with Pearson eText -- Standalone Access Card -- for Brock Biology of Microorganisms, 15/e MasteringMicrobiology should only be purchased when required by an instructor.
Publication Date: 2017-01-05
Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology (print book) by Moselio Schaechter (Editor)The Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Second Edition is a single-volume comprehensive guide to microbiology for the advanced reader. Derived from the six volume e-only Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Third Edition, it bridges the gap between introductory texts and specialized reviews. Covering topics ranging from the basic science of microbiology to the current "hot" topics in the field, it will be invaluable for obtaining background information on a broad range of microbiological topics, preparing lectures and preparing grant applications and reports. * The most comprehensive single-volume source providing an overview of microbiology to non-specialists * Bridges the gap between introductory texts and specialized reviews. * Provides concise and general overviews of important topics within the field making it a helpful resource when preparing for lectures, writing reports, or drafting grant applications
Publication Date: 2009
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton; Diana SainsburyThis Third, Revised Edition of a unique, encyclopaedic reference work covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. The Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, Third Edition, Revised: Reflects the latest developments in the field Features over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles Provides extensive cross-referencing between topics Includes numerous references from scientific journals and other relevant sources With its wide-ranging description of different areas of microbiology, the Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, Third Edition, Revised is an indispensable reference for every researcher, lecturer and student.
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Medical Immunology by Ian MacKay (Editor); Noel R. Rose (Editor); Dennis K. Ledford (Editor); Richard F. Lockey (Editor)Volume Allergic Diseases is a comprehensive, multi-authored reference work, offering a broad appeal to microbiologists, immunologists, and infectious disease specialists. The volume explores all aspects of allergic diseases, body systems and vaccines. Emphasis is placed on genetics, physiology, metabolism, pathogenesis, and applied microbiology. Under the leadership of some of the most world renowned names in the field, the encyclopedia brings together an outstanding collection of contributions by top scientists in a variety of fields. The entries are listed alphabetically and provide full references. The volume covers the following topics: Food Allergy and gastrointestinal Allergic Diseases Insect Allergy Allergy Diagnosis and Testing Allergy Treatment: Pharmacotherapy Asthma and Other Allergic Lower Respiratory Disease Biology of IgE, Mast Cells and Eosinophils Specific Allergens Causing Human Disease Atopic Dermatitis, Urticaria and Dermatologic Allergy Allergy Treatment: Immunotherapy, Immunomodulator Therapy and Allergen Avoidance "
Encyclopedia of Virology by B. W. J. Mahy (Editor-In-Chief); Marc H. V. van Regenmortel (Editor-In-Chief)Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of concise "mini-review" articles, this praised work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Now in five volumes, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. With over 25% new chapters and over 1000 illustrations, this edition takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism. Edited by leading Virologists Mahy and van Regenmortel, this third edition remains the number one all-inclusive source of information for virology researchers, students, and reference departments of academic, medical, and corporate libraries. Extensive coverage on AIDS and HIV, viral immunology and vaccines, the economic importance and control of virus diseases, and the origin, history, evolution and phylogeny of viruses -NEW! Four color throughout -NEW! Sections on future perspectives that show the direction of current research 25% NEW articles Glossary of key terms for easy referencing Information on viruses of human clinical interest, including the virus causing SARS -NEW! More than 20% NEW virus classifications The most recent information from the 8th International Committee on Taxonomy and Classification of Viruses -NEW! Recommendations for further reading and a list of other relevant entries
Publication Date: 2008
Fields Virology by David M. Knipe; Peter HowleyFields Virology is the authoritative reference book for virology, providing definitive coverage of all aspects of virology, including thorough coverage of virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families. With the regular outbreaks of influenza, noroviruses as well as other emerging and re-emerging viruses it is essential to have the most up-to-date information available. With this Sixth Edition, all chapters have been completely updated, an important new emphasis has been placed on virus discovery and emerging viruses. Viruses associated with cancer, including the new human polyomaviruses, are highlighted in this Sixth Edition and new chapters have been added on circoviruses and mimiviruses. While the main focus of this edition continues to be on viruses, information on prions and the infectious spongiform encephalopathies are also included. FEATURES * 2-volume set * Full color throughout with over 1,000 illustrations in total and most chapters provide key figures for use as lecture slides * Online companion website with fully searchable text, all references linked to PubMed and additional material not found in the print for access to content anytime * Newcoverage of emerging and viruses, including those causing influenza and HIV * Updated coverage of viruses and cancer * Coverage includes virus structure, virus entry, replication, and assembly, virus-host cell interactions, host immune responses and vaccines, antiviral therapeutics, virus evolutionand immunization * Thorough coverage of all viruses of medical importance, including both basic science and clinical features * New chapters on circoviruses and mimiviruses and a new section on Chikungunya virus have been added * Important advances in antivirals, including new HCV protease inhibitors and HIV integrase inhibitors
Publication Date: 2013-06-25
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology, Third Edition by Julius M. Cruse; R. E. Lewis; Robert E. LewisFrom the beginning, immunologists have maintained a unique nomenclature that has often mystified and even baffled their colleagues in other fields, causing them to liken immunology to a black box. With more than 1200 illustrations, the Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology, Third Edition provides immunologists and nonimmunologists a single-volume resource for the many terms encountered in contemporary immunological literature. Encyclopedic in scope and including more than 1200 illustrations, the content ranges from photographs of historical figures to molecular structures of recently characterized cytokines, the major histocompatibility complex molecules, immunoglobulins, and molecules of related interest to immunologists. These descriptive illustrations provide a concise and thorough understanding of the subject. To reflect modern advances, the third edition includes entries on immunopharmacology, newly described interleukins, comparative immunology, immunity to infectious diseases, and expanded definitions in all of the immunological subspecialities. Providing unprecedented breadth and detail, this readily accessible book is not only a pictorial reference but also a primary resource.