CORG 225 / MGCR 222 Organizational Behaviour

Articles written by academics, analysts, and investigative journalists are often good sources of information on organizational behaviour issues, both generally and in the context of a specific companies and organizations.

• Business Source Complete: Comprehensive article database from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, market reports, industry reports, and news.
  • Includes Harvard Business Review
• ABI/Inform: Complimentary to Business Source Complete and similar in scope, with a greater emphasis on trade publications.
• CBCA Complete: Canadian business and current affairs magazines.
• Eureka: Canadian and Quebec content, and media content (TV, radio transcripts, blogs, social media)
• Factiva: Newspaper articles from over 32,000 top news sources from around the world in 28 languages.

See also: Articles and News guide.

Search WorldCat Discovery for McGill's entire collection of resources: books, journals & articles, multimedia, and other resources, in both print or electronic format.

Organizational behavior or situations take place in the context of a company/organization. Understanding this context and the various ways these behaviours can influence and be influenced by these various contexts.

When studying organizational behaviour, it is therefore often useful to have a good understanding of the company/organization involved, the industry that company is a part of, and the country in which the company is situated.

These reports help you to understand the company you are studying: the executives, how the company structured, the corporate history, the products and services offered by the company, as well as their financials. Some reports will also provide an analysis of the company's performance as well as the opportunities and challenges they face.

• Mergent Online: Provides company overview, history, executive profiles, annual reports, financials.
• MarketLine: Provides company overview, major products and services, key competitors as well as SWOT analysis for larger companies.
• Passport GMID: Focuses on companies in the consumer market. Click Companies tab and search for company by name.
• Company Information (Business Source Complete)
  Provides company information as well as links to related articles, SWOT analysis, etc. Click Company Information, then search for the company you are interested in.

See also: Company Research guide

Industry reports help you to better understand the business or market context of the company or organization that you are studying.

• IBISWorld: Reports contain industry performance, competitors, competitive landscape, product and market information.
• Marketline: Reports contain market segmentation, market outlook, and five forces analysis.
• Mintel: Focus on consumer goods & services. Industry and market reports and trends, branding, and consumer information.
• Passport: Focus on consumer goods & services. Background, competitive environment, market shares, industry data, outlook and more.
• Conference Board of Canada: Reports providing economic research, analysis, and forecasts on Canadian industries. Includes both in-depth outlook reports on almost 20 key industry sectors, as well as shorter profile reports on other industries.
• Canadian Industries and Businesses: Statistics, reports, and benchmark data from Industry Canada.

See also: Industry Research guide

Country profiles also help you to understand the broader social, political, and economical contexts that might have an influence or impact on the company or organziation you are interested in.

• EIU Country Profiles: Analysis and forecasts of political, economic and business environments in more than 180 countries.
• Marketline: PESTLE reports (political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental) for over 100 countries.

You can use the following sources to help you build your citations for your report.

Business Citation Guides:

• McGill Library Business Citation Guide
• York University Business Guide *Great comprehensive resource with APA examples

Other Resources

• Excelsior OWL
• Zotero: Reference manager you can use to track your sources and build your bibliography in Word.