Skip to Main Content

MECH 547 Mechanics of Biological Materials

COVID-19 CLOSURE

As of September 1, most Library branches, including the stack areas, will be accessible to current McGill students, faculty, and staff. Visit the hours webpage for a full listing of opening and service hours.

Further to Quebec government and university directives, procedural masks will continue to be required in all Library branches. For more information, please visit Library services & spaces re-opening.

Welcome

Welcome to the MECH 547 Course Guide! This guide is made to help you find information for your assignments in this course. If you would like any help with finding information, please feel free to make an appointment. Good places to start are by:

To see if there are books on reserve (short-term loan) for this course, please click here and type in your course number.

Research databases

Best bets

Engineering database - Compendex

  • References to journal articles and conference papers on all aspects of engineering. Check out the short tutorial below on the basics of searching Compendex on the Engineering Village platform.

Multidisciplinary database - Web of Science

  • References to journal articles and conference papers, as well as contains information about how many times an article has been cited and who cited it.

Engineering database - SciTech Premium Collection

  • Covers engineering and natural science topics, including bioengineering and biotechnology.

Additional databases

Multidisciplinary database - Scopus

  • References to journal articles and conference papers, as well as information about how many times an article has been cited and who cited it; A lot of overlap with Compendex.

Multidisciplinary database - Google Scholar

Biomedical and life sciences database - PubMed

  • Free resource covering biomedical literature. Use McGill's special PubMed link that will connect your search results in PubMed with McGill Library journal holdings to see what is available in full text through McGill.

Note: All that you need is one good paper to help you find more - try these tips for expanding your search!

Compendex (Engineering Village) Quick Search Tutorial

Access and full text

Access

Find out about accessing the Library's online resources from on and off campus.

 

Obtaining materials that are not available at McGill

McGill students and staff may order articles and books that are not available at McGill using COLOMBO, the library's interlibrary loan service.

Writing and citing

Consult these resources for tips on how to write a research paper or technical report.

Title Format
Effective writing strategies for engineers and scientists Online
Engineers' guide to technical writing Online
Guide to report writing (University of Cambridge) Online
Making sense : a student’s guide to research and writing : engineering and the technical sciences Print
Pocket book of technical writing for engineers and scientists Print
So, you have to write a literature review : a guided workbook for engineers Online
Style and ethics of communication in science and engineering Online
Technical reports (NDT Resource Center) Online
Technical writing : a practical guide for engineers, scientists, and nontechnical professionals Online
Writing for science and engineering: papers, presentations and reports Online
Writing technical articles (Columbia University) Online

 

For more writing resources, click here.

 

Also, try the McGill Writing Centre.

Citation styles

Best bets

Other popular options

Citation management software

EndNote

  • McGill students and staff can download EndNote citation management software for free. With this software you can get references directly from many databases, such as Web of Science.
  • A Guide to Using EndNote (PDF handout)
  • EndNote can automate the formatting of your references in many different citation styles. If you are using IEEE, APA, Chicago or Science, the output styles are already installed in EndNote. For AIAA and ASME, you will need to download the output styles from the following links: AIAA output style and ASME output style. For Windows: Open and save the .ens file in C:\Program files\EndNote\Styles. For Macs: Open and save the .ens file in Applications:EndNote:Styles.
  • EndNote Web is also available at McGill University. To access EndNote Web you need to create a personal account. You can sign up for an account with your McGill email address at www.myendnoteweb.com.
  • There are library workshops given on how to use this software effectively.

JabRef

  • If you are using LaTeX to create your document, your may want to make use of JabRef open source software to manage your references.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Tara Mawhinney
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering (Office located in the McLennan Library Building during the Schulich closure)
514-398-4764
Website

Need help? Ask us!

The Turret

Latest posts:

Loading ...

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice