Guides: Islamic sources: Quranic studies

Databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) offers scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Al-Manhal eLibrary gives access to over 100,000 full-text searchable publications (books, peer-reviewed journals, strategic studies, academic dissertations and educational videos) from the Arab world’s leading publishers on a wide-variety of topics including Islamic (religious) Studies.

Dar al-Mandumah provides access to a series of databases with full-text content of Arabic scientific conferences, dissertations and academic journals from 1921 to present day.

Index Islamicus Online is a classified bibliography of publications in European languages on Islam and the Muslim world including more than 590,000 records.

JSTOR is a subject searchable index of journals on-line with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.

ProQuest Research Library is a multidisciplinary database covering disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

A selected list of databases pertinent to Islamic Studies is available here, and a complete list of databases accessible to McGill affiliated researchers is available here.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Qur'anic usage
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and contextualized Arabic-English dictionary of Quranic usage based on classical Arabic dictionaries and Quran commentaries.

A Comparative Lexical Study of Qur?a¯nic Arabic by Martin R. Zammit
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PJ6611 Z36 2002
ISBN: 9781417536511
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This work offers insights into the internal lexical relationships attested in a number of Semitic varieties within Qur'anic Arabic.
A Concise Dictionary of Koranic Arabic by Arne Amadeus Ambros (Compiled by); Stephan Procházka
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: BP133 A58 2004
ISBN: 9783895004001
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
This dictionary presents the entire Koranic lexical material in an easily accessible arrangement, with glosses in English based primarily, yet critically, on the German translation by R. Paret, with certain new proposals by the compiler. The entries are accompanied by a selective (in some instances, exhaustive) listing of their places of occurrence in the text and by the citation of a great number of relevant textual segments. The dictionary aims at reflecting the state of the art of Koranic philology, and so at providing both a guideline for the student of Arabic and Islamics and a research tool for the specialized scholar.
The Nouns of Koranic Arabic Arranged by Topics by Stephan Prochazka (Contribution by); Arne A. Ambos (Compiled by)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: BP133 A584 2006
ISBN: 9783895005114
Publication Date: 2006-10-15
This dictionary undertakes, for the first time, to group the substantives and adjectives in the Arabic Koran by topics, with glosses in English. The categories are partly derived from nature such as 'Astronomy', 'Metals' or 'Human Sexuality'. Even specialists in the field may be surprised to learn that there occur for example over seventy designations for parts, organs and fluids of the human body, partly they reflect the great themes of the text such as 'Guidance and Straying' or 'Obedience and Disobedience'. An English index enables the user to check if a certain concept occurs and how it is expressed in the Arabic Koran.

Digital collections

Corpus Coranicum makes more than 30,000 digital reproductions of early Qur'anic manuscripts available, and includes numerous tools useful to study the Qur'an (i.e. database of variants in transcriptions of the Qur'anic text, database of sources texts, chronological-literaty commentary, verse navigator, etc.).

Early Western Korans Online (Brill) includes Qur'ans and Qur'an translations, printed in Europe between 1537 and 1857.

The Noble Quran is an user-friendly and interactive online version of the Qur'an.

Quran for all Season a podcast hosted by Joseph Lumbard of the College of Islamic Studies at Hamad Bin Khalifa University, the podcast provides an ongoing commentary on the Quran, what some might call a contemplation, or tadabbur, of the Quran.

Online Quran Project offers easy exploration, browsing and research of the Qur'an, and various online translations. The hope is to include translations of the Quran in all the languages in the world.

Quranic Arabic corpus is an annotated linguistic resource showing the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran providing three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology.

The Koran is an electronic version of The Holy Qur'an, translated by M.H. Shakir and published by Tahrike Tarsile Qur'an, Inc., in 1983.

Sultan Baybar’s Qur’an is one of the most magnificent Qur'ans in the British Library.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Islamica by Farhad Daftary (Editor); Wilferd Madelung (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9789004168602
Publication Date: 2008-07-10
The 16 volume Encyclopaedia Islamica is due to become one of the major comprehensive reference works on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature is the attention given to aspects of Islamic heritage-particularly Shi'ism-which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias.

Encyclopaedia of Islam. Second edition
- This link opens in a new window
Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam : Three
- This link opens in a new window
This edition sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. It is published in five substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
Encyclopaedia of the Quran
- This link opens in a new window
This "is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online includes direct access to 62 Early Printed Western Qur’āns Online and the Electronic Qurʾān Concordance, a unique online finding aid for textual research."

The Qurʼan : an encyclopedia by Oliver Leaman 1950-
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2006
"Authored by forty-three international experts, the objective of this title is to present a diversity of thought, approach and school without priority, in order to give a strong appreciation of the range of response that the Qur'anic text has provoked throughout its history. (...) The volume assumes no previous knowledge of the Qur'an, Islam or Arabic. Technical terms are explained in the text itself and the style of each entry is designed to be as self-contained as possible. Entries are cross-referenced and many include a brief bibliography. At the end of the work there is a substantial annotated bibliography providing a detailed guide to the most significant books, journals and articles in Qur'anic Studies."

Qurʾānic Studies Online
- This link opens in a new window
This platform includes five reference works on the Qur'an and Hadiths (two encyclopedias, one dictionaries, one concordance, and a digital collection).

Journals

Available at McGill:

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon

She / Her / Elle

Email me

Contact:

3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1

514-449-1952

Subjects: African studies, Islamic and Middle East studies

Qur'an fragment, 10/11th cent. (AC 194)

Qur'an Tools

Qur'an Tools is a free and open source digital tool for the critical study of the Qur'anic text, its construction and language.