Guides: Iranian studies: Shi'ism

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Islamica
"Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʼirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature of the Encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, Encyclopaedia Islamica Online offers the Western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition."
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (second edition)
A unique and invaluable reference tool setting out the present state of knowledge of the Muslim World.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam : Three
This edition sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. It is published in five substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
Oxford Bibliographies
An authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.Expert scholars share the trusted sources they use across a variety of academic disciplines. Sources are rigorously peer reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity. The interface guides users directly to the information, providing personalized citation lists and seamless links to full-text print and online content.

Journals

Journal of Shi'ite Islamic Studies
International journal of Shi'i studies (request via ILL)

Websites

The Agha Khan Museum offers unique insights and new perspectives into Islamic civilizations and the cultural threads that weave through history binding.

Ahlul Bayt Digital Library Project is an online database of Shi‘i religious sources, both primary and secondary, on theology, Qur’an, hadith, the Imamate, and other topics, many of them translated into English and other European languages.

Circle of Sociology of Shia Studies is a group of social scholars and researchers focusing on sociology of religion, especially Shi'a studies.

A Shi'ite Encyclopedia provides a wealth of information addressing Shi'a/Sunni inter-school related issues. It is an initiative of the Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project.

The Shi'i Institute is a non-profit organization focusing on the study of Shi'ism, its doctrine, thought, heritage and principles.

Shi'i News and Resources is an initiative of Dr. Andrew J Newman, Professor of Islamic Studies and Persian at the University of Edinburgh aiming at documenting both the history and geography of Shi'i populations and daily media coverage of Shi'ism.

Shia Rights Watch (SRW), established in 2011, is a non-governmental and not-for-profit research entity and advocacy group dedicated to define and protect the rights of Shia Muslims around the world. SRW holds a Special consultation status (ECOSOC) with the United Nations.

Tafsir al-Mizan is a community funded project coordinated by the Tawheed Institute translating into English the twenty volumes commentary of the Qur'an by the late Islamic scholar, thinker, and philosopher, ʿAllāmah al-Sayyid Muḥammad Ḥusayn al-Ṭabāṭabāʾī (1904-1981).

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon

She / Her / Elle

Email me

Contact:

3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1

514-449-1952

Subjects: African studies, Islamic and Middle East studies