Call Number: HB61 R68 1999 - Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Publication Date: 1999-08-04
Combining the in-depth background coverage of an encyclopedia, with the look-up convenience of a dictionary, this work should be useful for anyone concerned with international economics. It covers the latest theories in the field of global economics and explores new economic thought from A-Z.
Call Number: Online Handbook & Print Handbook - HT388 H364 2009 - Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Publication Date: 2009-01-30
Regional economics - an established discipline for several decades - has gone through a rapid pace of change in the past decade and several new perspectives have emerged. At the same time the methodology has shown surprising development. This volume brings together contributions looking at new pathways in regional economics, written by many well-known international scholars. The most advanced theories, measurement methods and policy issues in regional growth are given in-depth treatment.The focus here is to collect cutting-edge theories explaining regional growth and local development. The authors highlight the recent advances in theories, the normative potentialities of these theories and the cross-fertilization of ideas among regional economists and mainstream economists. Theories of regional growth and development need to be able to interpret, more than ever, the way in which regions achieve a role in the international division of labour and, more importantly, the way in which regions can maintain this role over time. Topics covered include: regional growth and development policies and measurement methods; development theories of innovation, knowledge and space, and regional production factors; and growth theories and space.This book will be a source of reference and information for both scholars and students in the area of regional economics.
Call Number: HC59.7 E52 2006 - Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
A RUSA 2007 Outstanding Reference Title
The Encyclopedia of the Developing Worldis a comprehensive work on the historical and current status of developing countries. Containing more than 750 entries, the Encyclopedia encompasses primarily the years since 1945 and defines development broadly, addressing not only economics but also civil society and social progress. Entries cover the most important theories and measurements of development; relate historical events, movements, and concepts to development both internationally and regionally where applicable; examine the contributions of the most important persons and organizations; and detail the progress made within geographic regions and by individual countries.
Call Number: HD82 E547 2005 - Reference - Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Publication Date: 2004-12-16
International development is now a major global activity and the focus of the rapidly growing academic discipline of development studies. The Encyclopedia of International Developmentprovides definitions and discussions of the key concepts, controversies and actors associated with international development for a readership of development workers, teachers and students. With 600 entries, ranging in length from shorter factual studies to more in-depth essays, a comprehensive system of cross references and a full index, it is the most definitive guide to international development yet published. Development is more than a simple increase in a country's wealth and living conditions. It also implies increasing people's choices and freedoms; it is change that is inclusive and empowering. Development theory and practice has important applications to questions of economic growth, trade, governance, education, healthcare, gender rights and environmental protection, and it involves issues such as international aid, peacekeeping, famine relief and strategies against HIV/AIDS. The Encyclopedia treats these topics and many more, and provides critical analyses of important actors within development such as the United Nations and World Bank, non-governmental organizations and corporations. Contributors to this volume reflect the multidisciplinary and international nature of the subject. They come from social science disciplines such as economics, international studies, political science and anthropology, and from specialities such as medicine. This Encyclopediaprovides crucial information for universities, students and professional organizations involved with international development, and those interested in related topics such as international studies or other studies of social and economic change today.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, Second Edition addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark first edition, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008. For instance, while continued high rates of income inequality might be unsurprising in developing countries such as Mexico, the Organization of Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) reported in May 2013 even countries with historically low levels of income inequality have experienced significant increases over the past decade, including Denmark, Sweden, and Germany. The UN and the World Bank also emphasize the persistent nature of the problem. It is not all bad news. In March 2013, the Guardian newspaper reported, "Some of the poorest people in the world are becoming significantly less poor, according to a groundbreaking academic study which has taken a new approach to measuring deprivation. The report, by Oxford University's poverty and human development initiative, predicts that countries among the most impoverished in the world could see acute poverty eradicated within 20 years if they continue at present rates." On the other hand, the UN says environmental threats from climate change could push billions more into extreme poverty in coming decades. All of these points lead to the need for a revised, updated, and expanded edition of the Encyclopedia of World Poverty, Second Edition.
In this classic collection, some of the world's most eminent critics of development review the key concepts of the development discourse. Each essay examines one concept from a historical and anthropological point of view, highlights its particular bias, and exposes its historical obsolescence and intellectual sterility. The authors argue that a bidding farewell to the whole Eurocentric development idea is urgently needed, in order to liberate people's minds in both North and South for bold responses to the environmental and ethical challenges now confronting humanity. The combined result forms a must-read invitation to experts, grassroots movements and students of development to recognize the tainted glasses they put on whenever they participate in the development discourse.
What guidance does academic research really provide to economic policy development? The critical and analytical surveys in this volume investigate links between policies and outcomes by surveying work from broad macroeconomic policies to interventions in microfinance. Asserting that there are no universal correspondences between policies and outcomes, contributors demonstrate instead that only an intense familiarity with the development context and the universe of applicable economic models can generate successful policies. Getting cause-and-effect right is essential for policy design and implementation. With the goal of drawing researchers and policy makers closer, this volume highlights our increasing understanding of ways to combine economic theorizing with careful, thoughtful empirical work. * Presents an accurate, self-contained survey of the current state of the field * Summarizes the most recent discussions, and elucidates new developments * Although original material is also included, the main aim is the provision of comprehensive and accessible surveys
Call Number: HD82 H27525 2011 - Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
The Handbook of Local and Regional Developmentprovides a comprehensive statement and reference point for local and regional development. The scope of this Handbook'scoverage and contributions engages with and reflects upon the politics and policy of how we think about and practise local and regional development, encouraging dialogue across the disciplinary barriers between notions of 'local and regional development' in the Global North and 'development studies' in the Global South. This Handbookis organized into seven inter-related sections, with an introductory chapter setting out the rationale, aims and structure of the Handbook. Section one situates local and regional development in its global context. Section two establishes the key issues in understanding the principles and values that help us define what is meant by local and regional development. Section three critically reviews the current diversity and variety of conceptual and theoretical approaches to local and regional development. Section four address questions of government and governance. Section five connects critically with the array of contemporary approaches to local and regional development policy. Section six is an explicitly global review of perspectives on local and regional development from Africa, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America and North America. Section seven provides reflection and discussion of the futures for local and regional development in an international and multidisciplinary context. With over forty contributions from leading international scholars in the field, this Handbookprovides critical reviews and appraisals of current state-of-the-art conceptual and theoretical approaches and future developments in local and regional development.
Call Number: HD82 C75 2011 - Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
This handbook provides a clear and accessible introduction to the groundbreaking and interdisciplinary new field of critical development studies.Each short chapter is written by a well-known specialist and provides a succinct discussion of central issues in the field. It provides a critical perspective informed by a belief in the need for substantive change and for genuine, lasting progress in international development.This will be an important resource for all development scholars, teachers, students, researchers and activists who want to practice Development Studies with a critical edge.
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Covers key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets for countries world wide. Browse by places, people, international organizations, or abbreviations.
Liaison Librarian for Economics, International Development and Public Policy