5 - Find country information and reports - International Development

About country information and reports

The resources listed below will provide you with published reports on various countries and macroeconomic and development indicators.

Not every resource covers every country. If you are not finding data on a specific country, please contact the me, Michael David MILLER, liaison librarian for Economics, International Development and Public Policy.

Databases for Public Policy Reports

Canada Commons
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the Canadian Electronic Library formerly on the Des Libris platform.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Policy Commons
- This link opens in a new window
A one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.

The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)

The Economist Intelligence Unit
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to access all EIU content including Country Reports, 1996- Country Data, City Data, Market Indicators and Forecast, and The Economist in 3 vesions: Online, Print Edition and EIU content 1998-

Commonwealth iLibrary

Publications from the Commonwealth Secretariat. Every year the Commonwealth publishes around 30 new title on:

globalisation and multilateral trade issues
export and enterprise development
education
gender
public service management and reform
law and human rights

Discover their Economics and Development publications below.

The OECD

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is a group of 37 member countries that discuss and develop economic and social policy. (see Investopedia link below for more info).

OECD publications (Policy Commons)
- This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

OECD Data
Access to OECD data: charts, maps, tables and related publications
OECD - Investopedia
Investopedia article about that provides a broad overview of the OECD.

The World Bank

The World Bank is an international organization dedicated to providing financing, advice, and research to developing nations to aid their economic advancement. The bank predominantly acts as an organization that attempts to fight poverty by offering developmental assistance to middle- and low-income countries (see the Investopedia link for more info).

World Bank eLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
The subscription to this resource has not been renewed.

Databank - The World Bank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

World Development Indicators (World Bank)
Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank's open data portal. This data can be accessed by anyone and does not require McGill credentials for access.

World Bank - Investopedia
Investopedia article about that provides a broad overview of the World Bank.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF)

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an international organization that promotes global economic growth and financial stability, encourages international trade, and reduces poverty (see investopedia link entry for more info).

IMF eLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and much more.

IMF Data Homepage
- This link opens in a new window
Launch point to the IMF's macroeconomic data.

International Financial Statistics (IMF)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains country data on exchange rates, Fund positions, international liquidity, monetary statistics, interest rates, prices, production, labour, international transaction, government accounts, national accounts and population.

IMF - Investopedia
Investopedia article about that provides a broad overview of the IMF.

Statista Country Reports

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregated statistics from all around the globe. Simply search for country, city, demographic indicator, etc.

Accessing Statista's Country Reports:

Go to the Reports tab in the top navigation menu
Choose Country Reports in the lower left-hand corner of the floating menu

Global Resource Directory

Global Resource Directory
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of international business- and trade-related resources selected for their content and usability, and organized into the categories to facilitate research. Resource includes links to sites for specialized international business research on countries, cross-border business transactions, and cross-cultural management.

Liaison Librarian for Economics, International Development and Public Policy

Michael David MILLER

il et lui / he and him

Email me

Contact:

Subjects: Economics, Feminist studies, French language and literature, International development, LGBTQ studies, Public policy, Québec studies, Translation studies

Arabic	Hebrew	Polish
Bulgarian	Hindi	Portuguese
Catalan	Hmong Daw	Romanian
Chinese Simplified	Hungarian	Russian
Chinese Traditional	Indonesian	Slovak
Czech	Italian	Slovenian
Danish	Japanese	Spanish
Dutch	Klingon	Swedish
English	Korean	Thai
Estonian	Latvian	Turkish
Finnish	Lithuanian	Ukrainian
French	Malay	Urdu
German	Maltese	Vietnamese
Greek	Norwegian	Welsh
Haitian Creole	Persian