Guides: Information Studies: Find articles

Core Databases

Library and Information Science Abstracts : LISA (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
An international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 300 periodicals from around 40 countries and 20 languages, providing comprehensive bibliographic coverage of the scholarly literature related to library science. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval and more. Coverage: 1969 - current
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
LISTA - See Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 600 core journals, and more than 120 selective and priority journals. Coverage dates back to 1960.
Library Literature and Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing of nearly 1,500 periodicals, with citations to more than 500,000 articles, book reviews, books, book chapters and library school theses. This resource provides access to nearly 80 years of citations that document all of the innovations, controversies and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship.
ACM Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Research, discovery and networking platform containing full-text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.

Citation Databases

Scopus (Elsevier)
- This link opens in a new window
Curated abstract and citation database, updated daily with enriched data and linked scholarly content for Health, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Worldwide peer-reviewed literature includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Chemical Indexes include: Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present, plus Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840), and Index Chemicus (1993-present).

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
Provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Scopus (Elsevier)
- This link opens in a new window
Curated abstract and citation database, updated daily with enriched data and linked scholarly content for Health, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Worldwide peer-reviewed literature includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.

Legend

Tips for using Google Scholar

To connect Google Scholar to the McGill Libraries:

1. Click on Settings

2. Click on Library Links

3. Search for McGill

4. Click the box that says “McGill University Library – McGill Library Full Text”

5. Click on Save

To connect Google Scholar to EndNote:

1. Click on Settings

2. Scroll down

3. Under Bibliography Manager choose "EndNote" from the drop down menu

4. Click on Save