This comprehensive dictionary covers all aspects of librarianship and information and knowledge management. Designed to equip the trainee librarian or information management student with core industry terminology, this fully revised edition includes thousands of terms connected with information management, classification, cataloguing and electronic knowledge management. Handy supplements include proof correcting marks, classification systems, book prizes and awards, information skills, and a list of key resources on the Web.
Technology is constantly changing; what is cutting edge today is obsolete tomorrow. In this ever-evolving environment, educators, researchers and professionals of the discipline need access to the most comprehensive knowledge about the concepts, issues, trends and technologies in this hi-tech field. The Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology is the first work to map this ever-changing field. It is the most comprehensive, research-based encyclopedia consisting of contributions from over 900 noted researchers in over 50 countries. This five-volume encyclopedia includes more than 550 articles highlighting current concepts, issues and emerging technologies.
This reader-friendly supplement collects the latest advancements and research on new processes, developments, and technologies for the dissemination, access, and analysis of information-serving as a stand-alone source for anyone requiring an instant update on the many innovations in library science and information acquisition that have taken place over the past few years.
What began in 1994 as a five-page handout, the Dictionary of Library and Information Science soon was expanded and converted to electronic format for installation on the Western Connecticut State University Library Web site, where it is in high demand by library professionals, scholars, and students, and has won international praise. Now available for the first time in print, the Dictionary is the most comprehensive and reliable English-language resource for terminology used in all types of libraries. With more than 4,000 terms and cross-references (last updated in January of 2003), the Dictionary's content has been carefully selected and includes terms from publishing, printing, literature, and computer science where, in the author's judgment, they are relevant to both library professionals and laypersons.
Listing over 10,000 entries, Harrod's Librarians' Glossary and Reference Book spans everything from traditional printing terms to search engines and from book formats to URLs. Revisions for this tenth edition have centred in particular on the Information Society and its ramifications, on the general shift towards electronic resources, and on e-commerce, e-learning and e-government, whilst at the same time maintaining key areas predating the IT revolution. Web terminology, URLs and IT terms have been checked and updated, and coverage of terms relating to digitization and digital resources, portals, multimedia and electronic products has been revised or expanded as necessary. Harrod's Glossary now includes Knowledge Management terms, and this edition has also focused on developments in the field of intellectual property, copyright, patents, privacy and piracy. It gives wide international coverage of names, addresses and URLs of major libraries and other important organizations in the information sector, of professional associations, fellowships, networks, government bodies, projects and programmes, consortia and institutions, influential reports and other key publications.
The first section of this two-volume reference presents 34 essays on various types of libraries, and 13 geographical essays on library development in various regions of the world. The second, larger section comprises institutional histories of 224 libraries, all of which are open for business (extinct and fictional libraries have been excluded). These institutional histories vary in their approach and emphasis, some contributors choosing to emphasize collection growth, others, leadership and organizational change, for example; the various approaches reflect the breadth of work being pursued in the field of library history.