Skip to Main Content
Below are a small selection of encyclopedias that can help you better understand the science, technology, economics, and other factors related to your project.
To find other encyclopedias, search WorldCat for encyclopedia and add additional keywords related to what you are interested in (ex. encyclopedia poverty).
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Contains articles from experts around the world providing authoritative coverage of the growing body of knowledge about ways to restore the planet.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
Although focused on science and technology, this encyclopedia is also a comprehensive and authoritative resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these bottom-up innovations map on to the sustainability challenge.
Encyclopedia of Energy
Draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences.
The Oxford Companion to Global Change
An up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment.
Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
Reference articles to help you understand the various process that come together when people try to change the world.
Books, videos, etc
Searching the Library catalogue
The Library's collection contains many books and other resources that can provide you with a better understanding of the science, technologies, communities and people who's lives you are trying to impact.
Search the libraries collection of over 5 million titles!
Tip! Use the filters on the left to narrow your search results by type, year, etc.
To give you an idea of the kind of books you can find at the Library, here are a few sample searches:
Liaison Librarian for Management, Business, and Entrepreneurship