Guides: HIST 449 Medicine in the Ancient World: Reference Sources (Encyclopedias/Dictionaries)

Electronic

Dictionary of Medical Biography
- This link opens in a new window
This work has over 1,000 entries of practioners, primarily in the western medical tradition, but also including those in alternative and traditional Chinese, Indian and Islamic medicine.
more...less...
This work has over 1,000 entries of practioners, primarily in the western medical tradition, but also including those in alternative and traditional Chinese, Indian and Islamic medicine.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
This is a good source for information about medical terminology. If you can't find a term in it, or need more information, try Oxford Reference Online or Xreferplus.
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease
- This link opens in a new window
This reference work has detailed entries for 161 diseases, describing both their histories and characteristics.
Oxford Reference Online
- This link opens in a new window
This source searches multiple reference books, providing definitions and brief information in medicine, history and classical studies, drawing upon works such as the Oxford Companion to the Body, the Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, and the Oxford Classical Dictionary. This resource can be searched in total or by specific subject areas or individual works.
Antiquus Morbus
A glossary of archaic medical terms, diseases and causes of death.

The Cambridge World History of Human Disease. Osler Ref folio QZ 11.1 C178 1993. Introductory essays on medical history plus essays on various medical topics (e.g. public health, specific diseases) which include the classical period. Entries have bibliographies.
A Dictionary of the History of Medicine. Osler Ref folio WZ 13 S443d 1999. Short entries on individuals, diseases, movements and medical terminology for all historical periods written for the layperson.
Encyclopedia of Plague and Pestilence: from Ancient Times to the Present. Osler Ref folio WA 13 E565 2001.
Epidemics listed alphabetically, but also indexed by area and chronologically, (see Ancient History in Appendix Two).

She/elle

Email me

Subjects: History of medicine, Social studies of medicine