Guides: HIST 449 Medicine in the Ancient World: Article Indexes and Databases

History of medicine

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
HSTM provides access to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of medicine and allied fields, science and technology.

NOTE: Most of the medical entries date from 1991 to 2004, so to locate earlier works on the history of medicine it is best to consult the Subject Catalogue of the History of Medicine and Related Subjects (Osler Ref folio ZW 1 W447s 1980 - 18 volumes), published by the Wellcome Library, for the period 1900-1978. Material from 1979-1991, and a great deal more, can be found in the The Wellcome Library online catalogue, which contains records for books, book chapters, journal articles, reports, pamphlets, theses, patents and images.

MEDLINE(R) (OVID) ALL, 1946-
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE is a major bibliographic index of journal articles covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the pre-clinical sciences going back to at least 1950, including some historical articles. One can limit a search to material specifically about the history of medicine.

General history

Humanities Full Text (Wilson)
- This link opens in a new window
(part of OmniFile FT Mega) The Humanities Subject area of the OmniFile FT Mega indexes a wide range of historical material, including classical history. Older material (published before 1984) can be found by selecting Humanities and Social Sci Retro in the database selection area.

HIST 449 Medicine in the Ancient World

History of medicine

General history

Need help? Ask us!