Skip to Main Content

Finding Multimedia in Health Sciences

Video and 3D Content

Finding video and other multimedia content in or via subscription-based resources at McGill

Physical examination, procedures, and anatomy

Films and lectures

Multimedia in other subscription-based resources

Images

Tips on finding images in subscription-based resources at McGill

  • ClinicalKey
    • Perform a search and use the Source Type > Images filter below the search box
  • Gideon: Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network
    • A program for diagnosis and reference in the field of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy, which includes images.
  • Journals@Ovid
    • Allows users to search the contents of the records and full text of all indexed publications. This includes searching the descriptive text for images, tables, and figures. To search for these, select "caption text" from the Search Fields option. Alternatively, use the abbreviated command .ct. after the search term, e.g., uninjured brain.ct.
  • AccessEmergency Medicine, AccessMedicine, AccessPediatrics, and AccessSurgery: Use Advanced Search to limit to Images
  • ScienceDirect
    • Collection of 2,500 journals and over 11,000 books which allows for image searching across all content.
  • UpToDate
    • Perform a search and use the Graphics filter below the search box to display algorithms, diagnostic images, figures, forms, pictures, tables, and waveforms

Historical images

  • See also the Osler Library's list of Image Collections for historical images in the Life Sciences.

Finding Images

Publicly available image resources sorted by subject: General

  • Google Advanced Image Search
    • Includes images from all over the web in different formats (.jpg, .gif, .png) that have been published in the life sciences.
    • Select applicable "usage rights" to find images that you can use or share
  • HEAL (Health Education Assets Library)
    • "Includes multimedia resources currently located on the HEAL server and across many remote servers."
    • Funded by the National Science Foundation and the National Library of Medicine.
    • Indexed using MeSH terms.
  • Wellcome Images
    • A source of images on the history of medicine, modern biomedical science and clinical medicine.
    • Over 160 000 historical and contemporary images.
    • Can be searched or browsed.

Publicly available image resources sorted by subject: Dermatology

  • DermIS
    • A cooperation between the Dept. of Clinical Social Medicine (Univ. of Heidelberg) and the Dept. of Dermatology (Univ. of Erlangen).
    • Includes two image databases: DOIA (Dermatology Online Atlas) and PeDOIA.
  • Global Skin Atlas
    • "[J]oint effort of Doctors in various countries to cover the spectrum of skin disease in all skin colours and races. The images may be freely used for self education and for teaching purposes (...)"

Publicly available image resources sorted by subject: Infectious Diseases

  • The Big Picture Book of Viruses Images gathered from "well-known" sources
    • From Tulane University.
    • A directory of images available elswhere on the internet. No search engine available.
  • CDC Public Health Image Database Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    • Sponsored by the National Center for Health Marketing, the National Center for Infectious Diseases, and the Information Resources Management Office.
    • Includes photographs, illustrations, and multimedia files.
    • Indexed using MeSH terms.
  • Red Book Online Visual Library - "More than 2,700 ID images for use in diagnosis and presentations" in Pediatrics

Publicly available image resources sorted by subject: Neuroanatomy

  • Whole Brain Atlas
    • Authored by Keith A. Johnson, MD and J. Alex Becker, MD from Harvard Medical School.
    • "The Atlas is intended as an introduction to basic neuroanatomy, with emphasis on the pathoanatomy of several leading central nervous system diseases."

National Cancer Institute Visuals Online

  • "Contains images from the collections of the Office of Communications, National Cancer Institute. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, cancer-specific scientific and patient care-related images"
  • Collection can be browsed or searched.

Publicly available image resources sorted by subject: Ophthalmology

  • Atlas of Ophthalmology
    • Endorsed by the International Council of Ophthalmology.
    • Approximately 300 images 'showing and describing the various stages of the clinical picture as it is seen in photographs and by ancillary tests.
  • National Eye Institute Media Library
    • Collection of photographs, illustrations, and animations available.
    • Collection can be browsed or searched.

Publicly available image resources sorted by subject: Pathology

Publicly available image resources sorted by subject: Public Health

Publicly available image resources sorted by subject: Radiology

Publicly available image resources sorted by subject: Surgery

Copyright Notice

Please note that unless stated otherwise, digital images are protected by copyright, even when there is no copyright symbol displayed. Images do not need to be registered by the creator to be protected by copyright. Unless the creator of the images states expressly that the images may be used freely, permission must be obtained from the copyright holder. For all images where permission for use is granted, or where the image is in the public domain, it is good practice to cite the source.

Copyright Essentials

  • Helpful guidance from McGill librarian Alex Kohn on issues related to theses, MyCourses, digital delivery of course content

FAQ on Copyright at McGill

  • Includes information on fair dealing

Schulich Librarians

Profile Photo
Schulich Librarians
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering
514-398-4769
Website

Questions?

Need help? Ask us!

McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice