Guides: Farm Management and Technology: Find Reference Materials and Books

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, edited by N. K. Van Alfen
This reference eBook comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline.
Encyclopedia of Agrochemicals, edited by J. R Plimmer, N. N. Ragsdale and D. Gammon
Call Number: S584.4 E53 2003 REF
When you click the link, you access the eBook version.

This reference work emphasizes the chemicals used in agriculture for management of pests, their development, use, metabolism, toxicology and mode of action.
Encyclopedia of Animal Science, edited by W. G. Pond, D. E. Ullrey, C. K. Baer
Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences
The third edition of Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences will retain the split that characterized the earlier editions - one-third primary production, two-thirds dairy food. Unlike earlier editions, in which articles were arranged in alphabetical order by topic, this edition will be optimally organized into 9 coherent sections.
Encyclopedia of Grain Science, edited by H. Corke, C. E. Walker and C. Wrigley
Call Number: SB188.4 E5 2004 REF
When you click the link, you access the eBook version.

Offers coverage ranging from the genetics of grains to the commercial, economic and social aspects of this food source. It also covers the biology and chemistry of grains, the applied aspects of grain production and the processing of grains into various food and beverage products.
Larousse agricole, by M. Mazoyer and M. Aubineau
Call Number: S411 L37 2002
Synthesis of modern agriculture.

Key Texts and Resources

A Dictionary of Economics, 5th ed., edited by N. Hashimzade, G. Myles and J. Black
When you click the link, you access the eBook version.

This authoritative and comprehensive dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of over 3,400 key economic terms, covering all aspects of the field, including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labor economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics.
Farm Business Management: Analysis of Farming Systems by P. L. Nuthall
Call Number: S561 N87 2011
When you click the link, you access the eBook version.

The third and final installment of Peter Nuthall's Farm Business Management series, this volume teaches the practical skills needed to manage a farm, such as risk analysis, budgeting, cost benefit analysis and much more.
Farm Business Management: The Core Skills by P. L. Nuthall
Call Number: S561 N868 2010
Based on research carried out within the farming community and academic studies, this book assesses and explains the core skills needed to become a successful farm manager. Observation, anticipation of plan outcomes and risk management are identified as key requirements, and each of these categories is broken down into separate skills such as problem identification and visual observation, which are in turn dissected and analysed.
Farm Business Management, 2nd ed., by P. Nuthall
When you click the link, you access the eBook version.

This book outlines the human components of what makes a person, and why a farm manager acts in particular ways. The 8 chapters bring past and new work as well as developments and theories from other disciplines, including psychology, to provide a well-structured set of ideas for understanding managerial ability.
Gestion de l'entreprise agricole, 2nd ed by R. Levallois

For more resources, see the library subject guide for Agricultural Economics.

Animal Nutrition Science by G. Dryden
Call Number: SF95 D79 2008
Animal Nutrition Science introduces the fundamental topics of animal nutrition, in a treatment which deals with terrestrial animals in general.
Black's veterinary dictionary by E. Boden and A. H. Andrews
When you click the link, you access the eBook version.

Much more than a list of veterinary terms, its practical approach ensures that readers gain an insight into the signs and symptoms of common, and less common, diseases, their diagnosis and treatment.

Codes of Practice for the care and handling of farm animals
"Nationally developed guidelines for the care and handling of farm animals. They serve as our national understanding of animal care requirements and recommended practices."
Canadian Animal Health Coalition
"Not-for-profit organization serving Canada´s farmed animal industry."

For more resources, see the library subject guide for Animal Science.

Encyclopedia of Agricultural Food and Biological Engineering, 2nd ed., by D. R. Heldman
Call Number: TP368.2 E57 2011
When you click the link, you access the eBook version.

Examining the role of engineering in delivery of quality consumer products, this resource covers the development and design of procedures, equipment, and systems utilized in the production and conversion of raw materials into food and nonfood consumer goods.

For more resources, see the library subject guide for Bioresource Engineering.

Dictionary of Natural Resource Management, edited by J. A. and K. J. Dunster
An interdisciplinary and comprehensive reference to natural resource management terminology, containing some 6,000 entries.

For more resources, see the library subject guide for Natural Resource Sciences.

A Dictionary of Plant Sciences by M. Allaby
When you click the link, you access the eBook version.

In over 7,600 entries, this dictionary covers all aspects of plant sciences from genomics to horticulture and phylogenetics to taxonomy.
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science, edited by R. M. Goodman
Call Number: SB45 E486 2004 REF
Reference work covering classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science.
Plant Biotechnology and Agriculture, edited by A. Altman and P. M. Hasegawa
When you click the link, you access the eBook version.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Crop Protection Compendium
"The world’s most comprehensive site for Crop Protection Information."

For more resources, see the library subject guide for Plant Science.

Ebooks

Ebooks are also listed in the Library Catalogue (McGill WorldCat), or they may be searched by individual collection/provider, for example:

CAB eBooks
Provides access to ebooks in the subject areas of agriculture, animal science, environmental science, human health and nutrition, and plant sciences.
ScienceDirect
Provides detailed and exhaustive coverage of chapters of books in the agricultural, biological and environmental sciences. Includes journals as well, but searches can be refined to books only. McGill subscriptions are indicated by a bright green square box.
SpringerLink Books
Provides online access to chapters from over 15,500 book titles covering life and environmental science.

To see more ebook collections/providers available, please see the ebooks & media website.

Librarian

Mylène Pinard

Email me

Contact:

Macdonald Campus Library
Barton Building

514-398-7577

Subjects: Biological sciences, Natural resource sciences