Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Welcome to the library guide for Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Occupational Health

This guide provides a sampling of resources available to you through the McGill Libraries. If you are having trouble finding something, please feel free to reach out to me by email at genevieve.gore@mcgill.ca or by booking an appointment. I am happy to assist with specific goals such as starting and completing a review. 

If you can't find the full text of an article, if you have followed the suggested steps on finding full text page, please feel free to use our Interlibrary Loan Service. If a book is not available at McGill, you may also be able to borrow it in person at participating Quebec university libraries using your McGill ID card, or you can request that it be delivered to one of our branches.

If our collection is missing an item that you think we should have, please feel free to suggest a purchase or to reach me directly via email to see if we can acquire it.

Looking for the Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Occupational Health?

eBook collections​

Individual ebook titles are catalogued and available through Sofia, the McGill Library Discovery Tool. Below is a list of many of our health sciences ebook platforms that can also be directly browsed or searched for relevant material, often including full-text searching options.

• Springer Medicine and Public Health

• More information on e-books and media available at McGill 

Finding and using ebooks, information for mobile devices

• E-books & E-audiobooks
• Open textbooks - Finding and using
• Health Sciences mobile apps and technology guide - Includes information on apps available for selected ebook packages
• Mobile apps - Includes list of apps for reading on mobile devices

Core databases for finding articles

Additional databases for finding articles​

Other resources listing databases

• McGill LibGuides - List of all subjet guides developed by McGill librarians; useful way to identify databases for a research topic spanning other disciplines
• McGill Library Global Health Resource Guide - Includes list of indexes to regional literature as well as Core Databases in Global Health research
• Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews, and Other Knowledge Syntheses

Tools for screening, appraisal, and synthesis

• Tools for Screening, Appraisal, and Synthesis - Part of the McGill LibGuide on Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews, and Other Knowledge Syntheses

• Citation Software
• More information on computers, software, and equipment at the Library
• Software licensing (for McGill faculty/staff and students) - Information on access to software, including ArcGIS, SAS, SPSS, and more; availability differs for faculty/staff versus students
• Systematic Review Toolbox - External site providing useful categorization of knowledge synthesis tools (guidance, software) available for free on or on the market

• Covidence for Systematic Reviews
• Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews, and Other Knowledge Syntheses
• Librarian Involvement in Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews, and Other Knowledge Syntheses at McGill University

If you are collecting references for a project, looking for information on how to cite within a particular discipline, or interested in using software to collect and automatically format your in-text citations and bibliography in the proper citation style, the following pages may be of use:

• Citation Guides - General information on citation as well as information on what's available at McGill (for example, EndNote, which is free for McGill staff and students, and Zotero, which we support) and how to get more information
• Life Sciences Citation Style - Information on citing in Vancouver (author-number system), APA (author-date style), CSE
• Citation Styles - Useful citation guides for other commonly used citation styles
• Citation Styles by Subject

If you are writing a paper for a course, ask your professors what citation style they recommend. If you are publishing a journal article in the health sciences, consult the instructions for authors database or the journal website to find out what citation style they require your references to be formatted in.

Course guides