Guides: Economics: Data & Statistics

About statistics and data

This list of resources will provide you statistical information for Montréal, Québec and Canada, as well as statistical information for France, EU Countries and the USA. If you are looking broadly for country statistics, start with the Statista database as it aggregates statistics most of the national statistical agencies.

In additional to statistics collected by local and national governments, you will also find resources to statistics, macroeconomic data and development indicators collected by the Commonwealth, the World Bank, the OECD and the IMF.

For any questions, please contact me, Michael David MILLER, Liaison Librarian for Economics, International Development and Public Policy.

Québec and Canada - Statistics

Données Québec
Open Data from Québec, including data from the Government of Quebec and the municipalities of Laval, Gatineau, Montréal, Québec and Sherbrooke.
Institut de la statistique du Québec
Québec government body in charge of producing, analyzing and disseminating objective and high-quality official statistical information for Québec.
Économie - Institut de la statistique du Québec
Current economic indicators section is updated on working days at 10:00.
Montréal en statistique
Statistics relative to Montréal. Statistics on (but not limited to) language, income, housing, tourism, transport, etc. (only available in French)
Ville de Québec
Statistics for the City of Québec and its arrondissements (in French only)
Statistics Canada
Data and reports from data collected by Statistics Canada

Odesi
- This link opens in a new window
Source for microdata files from Statistics Canada

France and Europe - Statistics

Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques - INSEE
L’Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques collecte, produit, analyse et diffuse des informations sur l’économie et la société françaises
Institut national d'études démographiques - INED
Demographic Data relative to France
Data.Gouv.Fr - Plateforme de données ouvertes de la France
Open data platform of the French government.
Eurostat
Statistics from the European Union

Data for Countries and Cities

Global Resource Directory
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of international business- and trade-related resources selected for their content and usability, and organized into the categories to facilitate research. Resource includes links to sites for specialized international business research on countries, cross-border business transactions, and cross-cultural management.

The Economist Intelligence Unit
- This link opens in a new window
Look at the "Country Data" and "City Data" sections under "Quick Links".

MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Look for Country and City Reports and the "Databases" Section.

Microdata Sources

Federated Research Data Repository
Platform for searching across research data and government data. Dataverse, Données Québec, Open Data Canada and other open data repositories.

Odesi
- This link opens in a new window
Odesi is a digital repository for social science data, including Statistics Canada Surveys, polling data, ICPSR data, and data from various institutional repositories.
IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)
- This link opens in a new window
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Data and services available free of charge.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
- This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

World Data and Statistics

Google Dataset Search
This tool presents information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories on the Web.

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregated statistics from all around the globe. Simply search for country, city, demographic indicator, etc.

The Economist Intelligence Unit
- This link opens in a new window
Research and analysis division of The Economist Group. Economics reports and indicators from nations around the world.
Human Development Report Office's Library
From the United Nations Development Programme. Development process in terms of economic debate, policy and advocacy.

International Country Risk Guide (Country Data)
- This link opens in a new window
Click on image or 'Subscriber Shortcut' to start
IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)
- This link opens in a new window
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Data and services available free of charge.

Commonwealth iLibrary

Publications from the Commonwealth Secretariat. Every year the Commonwealth publishes around 30 new title on:

globalisation and multilateral trade issues
export and enterprise development
education
gender
public service management and reform
law and human rights

Discover their Economics and Development publications below.

The World Bank

The World Bank is an international organization dedicated to providing financing, advice, and research to developing nations to aid their economic advancement. The bank predominantly acts as an organization that attempts to fight poverty by offering developmental assistance to middle- and low-income countries (see the Investopedia link for more info).

World Bank eLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
The subscription to this resource has not been renewed.

Databank - The World Bank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

World Development Indicators (World Bank)
Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank's open data portal. This data can be accessed by anyone and does not require McGill credentials for access.

World Bank - Investopedia
Investopedia article about that provides a broad overview of the World Bank.

The OECD

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is a group of 37 member countries that discuss and develop economic and social policy. (see Investopedia link below for more info).

OECD publications (Policy Commons)
- This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

OECD Data
Access to OECD data: charts, maps, tables and related publications
OECD - Investopedia
Investopedia article about that provides a broad overview of the OECD.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF)

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an international organization that promotes global economic growth and financial stability, encourages international trade, and reduces poverty (see investopedia link entry for more info).

IMF eLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and much more.

IMF Data Homepage
- This link opens in a new window
Launch point to the IMF's macroeconomic data.

International Financial Statistics (IMF)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains country data on exchange rates, Fund positions, international liquidity, monetary statistics, interest rates, prices, production, labour, international transaction, government accounts, national accounts and population.

IMF - Investopedia
Investopedia article about that provides a broad overview of the IMF.

Liaison Librarian for Economics, International Development and Public Policy

Eamon Duffy

Email me

Contact:

Humanities and Social Sciences Library
3459, rue McTavish
Montréal (Québec) H3A 0C9

514-398-4697

Subjects: Government information

Instant Message with your Liaison Librarian

Instant message with MDM
Use this link to chat directly with your Liaison Librarian. Simply log in with your McGill email and password in Microsoft Office 365. I am usually available between 9:00 EST and 17:00 EST Monday-Friday.

The McGill Library's Sofia Catalogue

Find Books, Films, Music and MORE!

Advanced Search

The Sofia Library Catalogue searches McGill University's collection of resources, both print and digital:

scholarly, technical and popular books
scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers
films, music and partitions
maps, microfilm and data

NOTE: This search EXCLUDES journal articles.

Tips and Tricks - Sofia Library Catalogue
Maximize your searching experience in the McGill University Library WorldCat Catalogue.

Arabic	Hebrew	Polish
Bulgarian	Hindi	Portuguese
Catalan	Hmong Daw	Romanian
Chinese Simplified	Hungarian	Russian
Chinese Traditional	Indonesian	Slovak
Czech	Italian	Slovenian
Danish	Japanese	Spanish
Dutch	Klingon	Swedish
English	Korean	Thai
Estonian	Latvian	Turkish
Finnish	Lithuanian	Ukrainian
French	Malay	Urdu
German	Maltese	Vietnamese
Greek	Norwegian	Welsh
Haitian Creole	Persian