Guides: Economics: Newspapers and Magazines

About new sources

The databases and resources listed below will provide you with access to individual newspapers or magazines, as well as to databases that search across multiple newspaper and magazine sources. Additionally, you will find PressReader, a press kiosk like platform where you can browse newspapers and magazines.

les affaires

les affaires - PressReader
- This link opens in a new window
Search for « les affaires » in the search box or browse by language and country.
les affaires plus - PressReader
- This link opens in a new window
Search for « les affaires plus » in the search box or browse by language and country
les affaires & les affaires plus - Eureka.cc
- This link opens in a new window
1 - Advanced Search
2 - Search « les affaires » in the « available sources » search box
3 - choose the « les affaires » sources you want to search
4 - modify the default 30 day date range

The Economist

EIU - The Economist
- This link opens in a new window
A weekly international news and business publication.

Update frequency: weekly
Economist Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources)
- This link opens in a new window
Content from 1843-2020.
The content of this database is available for text-mining through Gale Digital Scholar Lab

The Financial Times

FT.com
- This link opens in a new window
Initial account registration required for access to the www.ft.com website.

The Financial Times - full website
- This link opens in a new window
Once you've completed your registration via the link above, you may continue directly to www.ft.com to have access to the full Financial Times Website.
Financial Times Help Centre
Tips and Tricks on maximizing your Financial Times experience.

PressReader: Economics and Business Magazines and Newspapers

PressReader: Economics and Business Magazines and Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Direct link to the Economics and Business magazines and newspapers in the PressReader Platform.

News Databases

Eureka
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Newscan.
PressReader
- This link opens in a new window
In-browser reading of national and international newspapers and magazines.
Globe & Mail is on-campus access only.
PressReader app should first be accessed from a McGill network to authenticate.
Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Canadian Newsstand Complete. Unparalleled access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. Includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
US Newsstream (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly ProQuest Newsstand. Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, this database offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Coverage: 1980 - current. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
International Newsstream (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Recent news content from outside of the US and Canada. Archives back decades featuring full-text newspapers, newswires, and news sites. Includes The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
News articles from over 32,000 top news sources from around the world.

Liaison Librarian for Economics and Public Policy

Michael David MILLER

il / he

Email me

Contact:

Subjects: Economics, Feminist studies, French language and literature, International development, LGBTQ studies, Public policy, Québec studies, Translation studies

Instant Message with your Liaison Librarian

Instant message with MDM
Use this link to chat directly with your Liaison Librarian. Simply log in with your McGill email and password in Microsoft Office 365. I am usually available between 9:00 EST and 17:00 EST Monday-Friday.