Guides: Economics: Articles, Working Papers & Reports

About scholarly articles, working papers and trade articles

The databases listed below will provide you bibliographical references to scholarly articles, working papers, trade publications and news articles. When searching in any of these databases, be sure to look at the refining facets / refining menus that can help you limit your search results by publication type and year.

EconLit Database

EconLit (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit is the primary economics database. It contains references to economic literature in all fields of economics. Results include six types of records: journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full-text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.

Help Guide to EconLit
An in-depth help guide created by ProQuest for the EconLit database.

AEA Journals - Complete List

The link below provides access to the complete list of journals published by the American Economic Association as well as the AEA's Data Repository that hosts the replication packages for articles published in AEA journals. Access to the AEA journals are reserved to current McGill Students and Staff. However, access to the AEA Data Repository is open to all.

AEA Journals - Complete List
- This link opens in a new window
American Economic Review,
American Economic Review:
Insights, Journal of Economic Literature,
Journal of Economic Perspectives,
American Economic Journal: Applied Economics,
American Economic Journal: Economic Policy,
etc.
AEA Data Repository - ICPSR
Data repository for articles published in AEA journals hosted on the ICPSR platform.

Adjacent Databases in Economics

These are the specialized databases that complement the coverage of the EconLit database. They provide bibliographic information on published scholarly articles, working papers and specialized newspapers and magazines in economics.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database that covers Economics, Political science, Anthropology, Archaeology, Cultural studies, Demography, Education, Ethnology and ethnography, Religious studies and Sociology.
LIBRARIAN SEARCH TIP: Once you have conduced a search, use the "subject" refining options on the left-hand side of the results page to reduce your results to Economics subject areas.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage: 1975 - current. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, as well as market reports and industry reports.
ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, as well as market reports and industry reports. Similar to Business Source Complete.

Working Papers Databases

Working papers are preliminary works that are not yet published and are extremely common in the field of Econmics. These papers often contain the most recent data and are cited in peer-reviewed publications.

EconLit (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
In "Publication Type" limit results to "Working Paper". This can be done on the main page of EconLit, or you can refine your search results once you have conducted your search.

EconPapers
716,398 Working Papers (614,225 downloadable) in 4,351 series
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
1,800,000 downloadable working papers in economics
NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research)
Working papers in full-text
Canadian Economic Working Papers
List of Canadian Economics Association and Economic Departments at Canadian Universities with access to their working papers.

Databases for Public Policy Reports

Canada Commons
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the Canadian Electronic Library formerly on the Des Libris platform.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Policy Commons
- This link opens in a new window
A one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database: complementary to Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database: complementary to Scopus
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database)
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database of primarily anglophone Canadian publications.

Thesis and Dissertations

eScholarship@McGill
Thesis and dissertations from McGill University
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of dissertations from McGill University as well as 3,100 worldwide universities. Full-text PDFs available for all non-embargoed dissertations and theses from 1997 – forward, with select full text available prior to 1997.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
Search engine that searches across open access institutional repositories of universities across the globe.

Top 10 Economics Journals from IDEAS/RePEc

IDEAS/RePEc Aggregate Rankings for Journals
Complete list of IDEAS/RePEc Aggregate Rankings for Journals.
The Quarterly Journal of Economics
- This link opens in a new window
Edited at Harvard University's Department of Economics, it covers all aspects of the field.
Journal of Political Economy
- This link opens in a new window
Covers monetary theory, fiscal policy, labor economics, development, micro- and macroeconomic theory, international trade and finance, industrial organization, and social economics
American Economic Review
- This link opens in a new window
General-interest economics journal
Econometrica : journal of the Econometric Society
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes original articles in all branches of economics - theoretical and empirical, abstract and applied
Journal of Economic Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Contains commissioned, peer-reviewed survey and review articles, book reviews, an annotated bibliography of new books classified by subject matter, and an annual index of dissertations in North American universities.
Journal of Financial Economics
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed academic journal covering theoretical and empirical topics in financial economics. Major areas: capital markets, financial institutions, corporate finance, corporate governance, and the economics of organizations.
The Journal of Finance
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research
The Review of Economic Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes path-breaking papers in theoretical and applied economics
Journal of Economic Growth
- This link opens in a new window
Serves as the principal outlet for research in the fields of economic growth and comparative economic development
Journal of Monetary Economics
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes important research contributions to a wide range of modern macroeconomic topics including work along empirical, methodological and theoretical lines

Liaison Librarian for Economics, International Development and Public Policy

Eamon Duffy

Email me

Contact:

Humanities and Social Sciences Library
3459, rue McTavish
Montréal (Québec) H3A 0C9

514-398-4697

Subjects: Government information

Instant Message with your Liaison Librarian

Instant message with MDM
Use this link to chat directly with your Liaison Librarian. Simply log in with your McGill email and password in Microsoft Office 365. I am usually available between 9:00 EST and 17:00 EST Monday-Friday.

The McGill Library's Sofia Catalogue

Find Books, Films, Music and MORE!

Advanced Search

The Sofia Library Catalogue searches McGill University's collection of resources, both print and digital:

scholarly, technical and popular books
scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers
films, music and partitions
maps, microfilm and data

NOTE: This search EXCLUDES journal articles.

Tips and Tricks - Sofia Library Catalogue
Maximize your searching experience in the McGill University Library WorldCat Catalogue.

Arabic	Hebrew	Polish
Bulgarian	Hindi	Portuguese
Catalan	Hmong Daw	Romanian
Chinese Simplified	Hungarian	Russian
Chinese Traditional	Indonesian	Slovak
Czech	Italian	Slovenian
Danish	Japanese	Spanish
Dutch	Klingon	Swedish
English	Korean	Thai
Estonian	Latvian	Turkish
Finnish	Lithuanian	Ukrainian
French	Malay	Urdu
German	Maltese	Vietnamese
Greek	Norwegian	Welsh
Haitian Creole	Persian

Arabic	Hebrew	Polish
Bulgarian	Hindi	Portuguese
Catalan	Hmong Daw	Romanian
Chinese Simplified	Hungarian	Russian
Chinese Traditional	Indonesian	Slovak
Czech	Italian	Slovenian
Danish	Japanese	Spanish
Dutch	Klingon	Swedish
English	Korean	Thai
Estonian	Latvian	Turkish
Finnish	Lithuanian	Ukrainian
French	Malay	Urdu
German	Maltese	Vietnamese
Greek	Norwegian	Welsh
Haitian Creole	Persian

Arabic	Hebrew	Polish
Bulgarian	Hindi	Portuguese
Catalan	Hmong Daw	Romanian
Chinese Simplified	Hungarian	Russian
Chinese Traditional	Indonesian	Slovak
Czech	Italian	Slovenian
Danish	Japanese	Spanish
Dutch	Klingon	Swedish
English	Korean	Thai
Estonian	Latvian	Turkish
Finnish	Lithuanian	Ukrainian
French	Malay	Urdu
German	Maltese	Vietnamese
Greek	Norwegian	Welsh
Haitian Creole	Persian