This guide provides access and information on melodies and texts of Gregorian chants for those involved in the study and performance of these works. We invite you to contact us with any comments or constructive suggestions.
Hiley, David. Western Plainchant: A Handbook. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1993. ML 3082 H54 1993
General reference book on chant with bibliography
Covers the liturgy: Mass, Office, Ceremonies of Holy Week, and other services
Psalm tones, antiphons, introits, hymns, sequences, and tropes
Liturgical books with commentary
Notation
Hiley, David. Gregorian Chant. Cambridge Introductions to Music. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2009. ML 3082 H53 2009
Intended for those less familiar with chant and liturgy
Hughes, Andrew. Medieval Music: The Sixth Liberal Art. Rev. ed. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1980. ML 114 H8 1980
Annotated bibliography
Contains general reference works, including manuscript catalogues, general histories, texts, collections, critical editions, philosophy and music literature, and notation
Covers Byzantine music, plainsong, tropes, sequences, liturgical drama, medieval song, the Notre Dame School, 13th-century motet and conductus
Hughes, Andrew. Medieval Manuscripts for Mass and Office: A Guide to Their Organization and Terminology. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1982. BX 1973 H83 1982
Reference book introducing the medieval liturgy
Liturgical year, season, day, service, individual items such as responsory, and variants in terminology
Print edition is older than the ebook
Apel, Willi. Gregorian Chant. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1958. ML 3082 A64
General reference book on chant
Provides a brief introductory history of the liturgy including liturgical structure
Information on chant based on text, notation, tonality, and methods and forms, as well as stylistic differences
McGill Library • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice