Canadian and Montreal Architecture

Locating Architectural Plans

Architectural plans may be found in several different ways. Frequently, reproductions of plans are included in journal articles and books. Specialized archives may also have plans, on paper, electronically, or both. Below are some tips to starting your search.

BOOKS

• Search McGill WorldCat for books and more.

JOURNALS
Start here by searching these journal databases. Note the dates of coverage:

• Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online (1930-present)
• Canadian Architect & Builder Online (1888-1908)
• Canadian Architectural Periodicals Index, 1940-1980
  Find a copy in the library

ARCHIVES

• Canadian Architecture Collection (CAC)
  This archive documents the work of selected past and present architects who have studied and/or taught at the McGill School of Architecture and School of Urban Planning. Includes architectural plans, drawings, and photographs of many McGill buildings. Search the online archive list by architect name. Selected collections available online. Visits by appointment.
• Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA)
  Montreal-based research centre and museum. Search the CCA collection for architectural plans, photographs and related archives or consult the Overview of the Collections for more information. Selected architectural archives available at the Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA). Print guides available in Blackader-Lauterman:
• McGill Archives Photo Collection Database
  Search for photographs of McGill buildings
• These guides may help to locate additional archives with architectural plans:
  • Répertoire d’architecture traditionnelle sur le territoire de la Communauté urbaine de Montréal
    A series on Montreal building types, including schools, domestic architecture, and industrial buildings. An excellent resource for identifying architect name and a brief bibliography.
  • A Union List of Architectural Records in Canadian Public Collections
    Z5944 C3 L43 1983 (Ref)

Maps and Geospatial Data (Montreal and more)

• Historical Maps and Atlases
• Fire Insurance Maps
  Historical urban maps that outline the footprint of every building on a given street, including number of stories and building materials. Cities and dates vary by source:
  • BANQ: Index map of Montréal land use plans (1954-1990) and fire insurance plans (1914-1972)
  • Rare Books and Special Collections, McGill University: Maps of Montreal by the Underwriters' Survey Bureau
• Map of the City and Suburbs of Montreal
• Lovell's Directory (1842-1999) Street directory of Montreal, includes resident and business names for most addresses.
• McGill Guide to Maps & Geospatial Data

Urban Planning Resources
Visit the Subject Guide for Urban Planning for resources such as:

• McGill Library Urban Plan Collection 
  Database of reports and plans for urban and rural areas from all Canadian provinces. Some American and international material. Years covered at present are roughly 1950-2006. Database will provide a box number for the print material, which can be found along shelved along the south wall of the Blackader-Lauterman Collection on the 3rd floor of the Redpath Library Building.