Canadian and Montreal Architecture

Montreal: The Square Mile

Mansions of the Golden Square Mile (Rémillard)
Find a copy in the library

The Square Mile, Montreal 1860-1914 (Gersovitz)
Find a copy in the library

Montreal: The Old Port

Le patrimoine du Vieux-Montreal en detail

Les Fonds Adamsburg
A database of files used to document the Répertoire d'architecture traditionelle de la CUM. Contains over 10 000 files and more than 50 000 photographs on buildings classified by address. Includes information on architects, some engineers as well as artists and artisans that worked in Montreal. For information contact Denise Caron at 514-872-7646.

Expo '67 - World Exhibition that took place in Montreal, Quebec April 28 - October 29, 1967.

Start your search

Much has been written on Expo '67. Start your search in journal articles and books. 

Ephemera & Images

McGill Rare Books and Special Collections has a small collection of Expo 67 holdings including ephemera such as license plates, visitor passports, postcards, a record, letter opener, bottle caps, ticket stubs, shopping bags, pins, souvenirs etc. There are also guidebooks, magazines, catalogues, books and other written material including clippings and several unpublished documents. Included also are 3 information manuals. Included in this collection are pamphlets and brochures for numerous pavilions, events, services, and countries as well as a variety of maps regarding Expo 67 and subsequent seasons of the Man and His World exhibition. Please ask for the finding aid at Rare Books and Special Collections. Accessible during opening hours.

Dixon Slide Collection: This website is a compilation of digitized images capturing the buildings and surrounding area of the Expo '67 site. The original photographs (slides) were taken by Meredith Dixon at Expo '67.

Architectural plans

The John Bland Canadian Architecture Collection, McGill Library, holds selected material related to Expo '67.  By appointment.

Moshe Safdie - Habitat '67

Norbert Schoenauer - Amusement Area Île Ronde Expo 67

John Schreiber - Children's World, Petit Monde, Le Monde des Enfants; Atlantic Provinces Pavilion

John Bland - Labyrinth-Mackay Pier, National Film Board; British Pavilion

Hospital Architecture

• Hospital Architecture in Montreal
  Contains over 1,000 images, a hospital construction chronology, architectural records and an in-depth case study of the Royal Victoria Hospital.
• Canadian Hospital Bibliography

Industrial Architecture

• Industrial Architecture of Montreal
  Focus on industrial buildings near the Lachine Canal. Excellent bibliography for further resources

Researching Canadian Architecture

• Architects of Nova Scotia: A Biographical Dictionary, 1605-1950
  NA60 C2 R67 1994 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference)
• Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Canada 1800-1950 (Hill)
  Available online
• The Buildings of Canada: A Guide to pre-20th Century Styles
  NA740 H86 1980 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference)
• Calgary Architecture
  NA747 C3 G83 1984 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference)
• Canadian Encyclopaedia
  FC23 C36 1988 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference) and online under 'Architecture'.
• Canada Green Building Council
  A coalition representing various segments of the design and building industry which aims to promote the design and construction of green buildings in Canada. The website also has information about Green Building Rating & Labelling Systems used in Canada.
• Canadian Artist Files
  From the University of Calgary, this site provides files on Canadian artists including architects, with a cross-reference list for public art and buildings
• The City of Toronto's Inventory of Buildings of Architectural and Historical Importance
  NA60 C3T6 1960 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference)
• Exploring Nova Scotia
  NA746 N6 E96 1984 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference)
• Exploring Ottawa
  NA747 O7 K35 1983 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference)
• Exploring Vancouver
  NA747 V3 K35 1993 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference)
• A History of Canadian Architecture
  NA740 K35 1994 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference)
• Ontario Architecture: A Guide to Styles and Terms
  NA746 O5 B55 1990 (Blackader-Lauterman Reference)

• Manitoba Architecture to 1940 provides numbered entries in four sections (books, articles, special materials, and addenda) as well as indexes referring to the entries and organized by by architect, building, and topic. Entries include location code.
  Z5944 C3 W32 1976 (Ref) Ordre des Architectes du Québec
• Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC-CAN)