Skip to Main Content
Streaming audio
- Naxos Music Library World
- Streaming audio library (world music)
- Access to over 197,000 recordings from world cultures
- Includes the Smithsonian Folkways catalogue
- Note: This database has a limited number of simultaneous users. If you have trouble accessing or receive an error message, please try again later.
- Naxos Music Library World App: Available for Apple or Android mobile devices. You must create a personal account prior to using the app.
Creating Naxos Music Library World Playlists: Video tutorial. Instructors can use the McGill Playlist creation guide for creating course-specific Naxos playlists. Please contact the Music Library staff for login credentials. Further information can be found on the Naxos website.
Troubleshooting: Note that clearing your browser cache often resolves issues related to playing selections on Naxos.
- Music Online. Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
- An archive of world's musical and aural traditions and includes published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and others, music recorded around Africa and South Asia, and the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music
- Supports browsing by people, cultural groups, places, instruments, genres, etc.
Multimedia resources
- Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
- Includes unpublished historical field recordings particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s and their supporting field notes, photographs, film footage, and ethnographers' metadata
- Browsable by cultural group, content type, subject, archival collection, ethnographers, and dates
- Ethnomusicology Global Field Recordings
- Contains field recordings, interviews, film footage, field notes, correspondence, ephemera, etc. from the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the Ethnomusicology Archive at the University of Washington.
- Supports browsing by region, collection and media type
- Allows image downloads and creation of video/audio clips
- The Virtual Gramophone
- Database containing information and images for more than 15,000 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.
- Selected recordings in the Library and Archives Canada collection of 78s, chosen for their Canadian content, were digitally reproduced for this site.
