Guides: Ethnomusicology (Draft): Literature

Book

Shadows in the field by Gregory F. Barz (Editor); Timothy J. Cooley (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199717194

Publication Date: 2008

A landmark text in ethnomusicological fieldwork, this book emphasizes the evolving nature of ethnomusicological fieldwork, a shift from traditional representation of musical cultures and data collection to the lived experience of understanding, experience, knowing, and doing fieldwork. With contributions from renowned ethnomusicologists, it highlights scholars’ roles in shaping ethnographic knowledge, explores the future of the discipline, questions the legacy of past practices, and addresses critical issues that have emerged in recent years.

Encyclopedias and bibliographies

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
- Comprehensive resource with photographs, maps, musical and audio examples devoted to research about the music of Africa (V.1), South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean (V.2), the United States and Canada (V.3), Southeast Asia (V.4), South Asia (V.5), the Middle East (V.6), East Asia (V.7), Europe (V.8), and Australia and Pacific Islands (V.9)
- The 10th volume includes a glossary, a bibliography of literature and recordings by region, and personal essays by prominent ethnomusicologists on their careers and research practices.
- Nine accompanying CDs are available from the 4th-floor desk
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Music and Culture
- Presents key concepts in the study of music in its cultural context and provides an introduction to the discipline of ethnomusicology, its methods, concerns, and its contributions to knowledge and understanding of the world’s musical cultures, styles, and practices
- Includes an annotated Resource Guide to further research (journals, books, and associations), Appendices listing notable archives, libraries, and museums, and a detailed Subject Index
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music
- Extensive coverage of topic, from the mambo and unique music instruments to the biographies of famous Latino musicians
- Contains about 200 entries, organized alphabetically
- Includes a chronology, discussion of themes in Latin American music, and 37 biographical sidebars of significant musicians and performers
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
- Comprehensive reference work on popular music of the world
- Read articles by leading popular music scholars
- Includes extensive bibliographies, discographies, sheet music listings, and filmographies
- Certain volumes available online:
  - Volume 1: Media, Industry, Society
  - Volume 2: Performance and Production
The Canadian Encyclopedia
- Bilingual digital encyclopedia of history, culture, and people in Canada
- Includes former Encyclopedia of Music in Canada entries
- Almost 20,000 articles written by expert contributors
- Interactive features include curated content exhibits, interactive timelines, immediate updates of important events, and a user-generated content map that invites Canadians to share their stories
- Offers a new learning centre for teachers and parents that contains classroom resources, quizzes, and themed study guides
Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide
- An annotated bibliography of basic literature such as encyclopedias, handbooks and indexes as well as research and sources current at the time of publication.

Databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
- Comprehensive scholarly bibliography of writings on music, international in scope, from 1900 to the present
- Covers a wide range of publications: journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, and essay collections
- Includes full-text content from many leading journals, magazines, and newsletters
Music Index
- Guide to music periodicals and literature
- Coverage includes articles about music, musicians, instruments, and the music industry (popular and classical)
- Good for finding reviews of books, recordings, and performances; news articles; and obituaries
- Some digital content (1970 to present)
Music Periodicals Database (formerly IIMP - International Index to Music Periodicals)
- Guide to scholarly and popular music journals for a wide range of subjects
- Emphasis on articles from 1996 to the present; indexing for certain journals from 1874
- Includes full-text content for many journals
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text (1760-1966)
- Online access to extensive collections of rare, primary source music periodicals from 1760 to 1966
- Includes specialized music journals selected from more than 20 countries worldwide
- Citations and full text available
- Provides an almost daily chronicle of musical activities over a period of 200 years

Browse the shelf

Ethnomusicology works can be found in these call number ranges on the Music Library shelves.

ML128 E8	Bibliography
ML198-ML239	Music History and Criticism by region: Americas
ML240-ML325	Music History and Criticism by region: Europe
ML330-ML345	Music History and Criticism by region: Asia
ML348	Music History and Criticism by region: Arab Countries
ML350	Music History and Criticism by region: Africa
ML360	Music History and Criticism by region: Australia
ML3797.7	Ethnomusicology - Congresses
ML3798	Ethnomusicology - General works (including works on methods of research)
ML3799	Ethnomusicology - Addresses, essays, lectures

Search by subject headings

In addition to browsing the shelves, a subject search in Sofia may also retrieve titles relevant to your needs. Enter one of the suggested subject headings below (the dashes are not necessary).