Guides: LING 210: Introduction to Speech Science: Articles

Search Tips

The Basic Search is the default search for the Sofia Discovery tool homepage.

To retrieve search results for a word with multiple endings, use the root with an asterix; for example, vote* will retrieve results related to vote, votes, and voting.
To search an exact phrase, use quotation marks; for example, "Liberal party of Canada".
To narrow a broad topic, use AND between keywords; for example, elections AND Canada.
To broaden a research topic, use OR to search for terms that denote similar concepts; for example, (voting OR elections) AND Canada.

For more help searching Sofia, consult the Sofia LibGuide.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. Coverage: 1973 - current.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Linguistic Bibliography Online (Brill)
Contains detailed bibliographical descriptions of linguistic publications on general and language-specific theoretical linguistics.

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a premier database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, offering access to peer-reviewed and grey literature in education. It includes journal articles, reports, conference papers, and dissertations from 1966 to the present—an essential resource for scholarly inquiry and evidence-based research.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Coverage: 1966 - current.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.

To connect Google Scholar to the McGill Libraries:

1. Click on Settings

2. Click on Library Links

3. Search for McGill

4. Click the box that says “McGill University Library – McGill Library Full Text”

5. Click on Save