Skip to Main Content

Citation guide for music

A guide to citing music resources, with a focus on Chicago-style citation examples for various types of music materials

Hanging indent for bibliography

Remember to indent after the first line of each bibliographic entry AND the first line of each footnote.

Notes and Bibliography examples

Here are some examples for your quick reference. Starting this CMOS 18th edition, the place of publication is no longer needed for books published since 1900. See CMOS18 14.30.

Elements of a book citation in Notes and Bibliography system (CMOS18)

Book with 1-2 Authors
Bibliography: Weiss, Piero, and Richard Taruskin. Music in the Western World: A History in Documents. 2nd ed. Thomson/Schirmer, 2008.
Footnote:      1. Piero Weiss and Richard Taruskin, Music in the Western World: A History in Documents, 2nd ed. (Thomson/Schirmer, 2008), 20-21.
     2. Weiss and Taruskin, Music in the Western World, 32.
* Notes: Use the shortened form of both author(s) and title in subsequent notes (CMOS18 13.22)
Book with 3 or More Authors
Bibliography:

Frith, Simon, Matt Brennan, Martin Cloonan, and Emma Webster. The History of Live Music in Britain, Vol. 1. Routledge, 2013.
Footnote:

     1. Simon Frith et al., The History of Live Music in Britain, Vol. 1 (Routledge, 2013), 10-11.
     2. Frith et al., The History, 32.
* Note:

(1) In the bibliography, list up to six authors. If more than six, list only the first three followed by "et al." (CMOS18 13.23)
(2) In the note, list only the first author followed by "et al."
Book with an Editor
Bibliography: Latham, Alison, ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Musical Terms. Oxford University Press, 2004.
Footnote:      1. Alison Latham, ed., The Oxford Dictionary of Musical Terms (Oxford University Press, 2004), 20-21.
     2. Latham, Oxford Dictionary, 32.
* Note: No need to include "ed." in subsequent footnote citations of the same source.
Book with an Author, Plus Editors/Translators
Bibliography: Fendeĭzen, Nikolai. History of Music in Russia from Antiquity to 1800. Translated by Samuel William Pring. Edited by Miloš Velimirović and Claudia R. Jensen. Indiana University Press, 2008.
Footnote:      1. Nikolai Fendeĭzen, History of Music in Russia from Antiquity to 1800, trans. Samuel William Pring, ed. Miloš Velimirović and Claudia R. Jensen (Oxford University Press, 2004), 20-21.
     2. Fendeĭzen, History of Music in Russia, 32.
* Note:

(1) In the bibliography, "edited by" is spelled out. However, in the footnote, the abbreviated form "ed." is used (CMOS18 13.24).
(2) When there are both editors and translators, record them in the order as appeared on the title page of the source (CMOS18 14.6).
Chapter in an Edited Book
Bibliography: Campbell, Edward. "French Music and the East: Colonising the Sound of an Empire." In The Orient in Music: Music of the Orient, edited by Magorzata Grajter. Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2017. 
Footnote:      1. Edward Campbell, "French Music and the East," in The Orient in Music: Music of the Orient, ed. Magorzata Grajter (Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2017), 61-62.
     2. Campbell, "French Music and the East," 70.
* Note: In the bibliography, the page range for the chapter is no longer needed, starting with this CMOS 18th edition (CMOS18 13.25).  
Chapter in a Festschrift
Bibliography: Bianco, Anna. "From the Art Collection of Ton Koopman: A Possible Portrait of Francesco Saverio Geminiani." In Studies in Baroque: Festscrhfit Ton Koopman, edited by Albert Clement. Dr. J. Butz, 2014. 
Footnote:      1. Anna Bianco, "From the Art Collection of Ton Koopman: A Possible Portrait of Francesco Saverio Geminiani," in Studies in Baroque: Festscrhfit Ton Koopman, ed. Albert Clement (Dr. J. Butz, 2014), 75-76.
     2. Bianco, "From the Art Collection of Ton Koopman," 101.
* Note: Citing a chapter in a Festschrift follows the same guidelines for a book chapter.
Book in a Book Series
Bibliography: Belkind, Nili. Music in Conflict: Palestine, Israel and the Politics of Aesthetic Production. SOAS Studies in Music. Routledge, 2021. 
Footnote:      1. Nili Belkind, Music in Conflict: Palestine, Israel and the Politics of Aesthetic Production, SOAS Studies in Music (Routledge, 2021), 25.
     2. Belkind, Music in Conflict, 30.
* Note: (1) Series title is capitalized but not italicized (CMOS18 8.178).
(2) For numbered series, the number follows the series title without intervening comma unless vol. or no. is used (CMOS18 14.25).
E-Book
Bibliography: Walls, Peter, ed. Baroque Music. Routledge, 2016. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315096643.
Footnote:      1. Peter Walls, ed., Baroque Music (Routledge, 2016), 20-21, https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315096643.
     2. Walls, Baroque Music, 32.
* Note: (1) Opt for the DOI rather than a link to the library's catalogue or a URL copied from the address bar of a browser (CMOS18 13.8).
(2) Do not include the access date unless the date of publication cannot be determined from the source or required by your instructor, publisher or discipline (CMOS18 13.15).
(3) If no year of publication can be ascertained, insert n.d. in the place of the year (CMOS18 14.44) and add an access date (CMOS18 13.15).
E-Book in Reflowable Format or a Proprietary Application
Bibliography: DeLaurenti, Kathleen, and Andrea I. Copland. Unlocking the Digital Age: The Musician's Guide to Research, Copyright, and Publishing. Johns Hopkins, Peabody Institute, 2024. EPUB.
Footnote:      1. Kathleen and Copland, Unlocking the Digital Age: The Musician's Guide to Research, Copyright, and Publishing (Johns Hopkins, Peabody Institute, 2024), chap. 1, EPUB.
     2. Kathleen and Copland, Unlocking the Digital Age, chap. 2.
* Note:

(1) Ebooks in reflowable formats such as EPUB or those on Kindle and Apple Books may not have fixed page numbers or any at all.  In this case, cite the chapter number or a section heading (CMOS18 14.59). Then, add the ebook format (e.g. EPUB) or the proprietary application (e.g. Google Play Books) to the end of the citation in the bibliography (CMOS18 14.58).

(2) No need to indicate the ebook format or the proprietary application in subsequent footnotes (CMOS18 14.59).
E-Book with No Publication Date
Bibliography: Walls, Peter, ed. Baroque Music. Routledge, n.d. Accessed November 18, 2022.  https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315096643.
Footnote:      1. Peter Walls, ed., Baroque Music (Routledge, n.d.), 20-21, https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315096643.
      2. Walls, Baroque Music, 32.
* Note: If no year of publication can be ascertained, insert n.d. in the place of the year (CMOS18 14.44) and add an access date (CMOS18 13.15).
Book that is Forthcoming, Not Yet Published
Bibliography: Walls, Peter, ed. Baroque Music. Routledge, forthcoming.
Footnote:      1. Peter Walls, ed., Baroque Music (Routledge, forthcoming).
     2. Walls, Baroque Music.
* Note: If the publication is forthcoming, enter forthcoming as the year element (CMOS18 14.45).

Note the followings for journal articles.

  • Article title in double quotations
  • Journal title in italics
  • Include the vol./issue numbers and month/season if available

Elements of a journal article citation in Note and Bibliography system (CMOS18)

Journal Article with 1-2 Authors
Bibliography: Brandenburg, Sieghard, and William Drabkin. “Viewpoint: On Beethoven Scholars and Beethoven’s Sketches.” 19th-Century Music 2, no. 3 (1979): 270–76.
Footnote:      1. Sieghard Brandenburg and William Drabkin, "Viewpoint: On Beethoven Scholars and Beethoven’s Sketches," 19th-Century Music 2, no. 3 (1979): 270.
     2. Brandenburg and Drabkin, "Viewpoint: On Beethoven Scholars and Beethoven’s Sketches," 274. 
* Note:

(1) If the year, volume and issue numbers are available, no need to include the month or season: Journal Title volume, no. issue (year): page range. E.g. 19th-Century Music 2, no. 3 (1979): 270-76. (CMOS18 14.70)
(2) If only the issue number is provided, include the month or season if available: Journal Title, no. issue (Month year): page range. E.g. 19th-Century Music, no. 3 (March 1979): 270-76. (CMOS18 14.70)
(3) If only the volume number is provided, include the month or season if available: Journal Title volume (Month year): page range. E.g. 19th-Century Music 2 (March 1979): 270-76. (CMOS18 14.70)
Journal Article with 3 or More Authors
Bibliography: Stuhl, Andy Kelleher, Alexandra Hui, Alexander Russo, and Amy Skjerseth. "Sounds of Accompaniment: Transcript from an SCMS 2022 Panel on Music, Technology, and Labor." Journal of Popular Music Studies 34, no. 3 (2022): 6-29.
Footnote:      1. Andy Kelleher Stuhl et al., "Sounds of Accompaniment: Transcript from an SCMS 2022 Panel on Music, Technology, and Labor," Journal of Popular Music Studies 34, no. 3 (2022): 10.
     2. Stuhl et al., "Sounds of Accompaniment," 20. 
* Note:

(1) In the bibliography, list up to six authors. If more than six, list only the first three followed by "et al." (CMOS18 13.78)
(2) In the note, list only the first author followed by "et al."
E-Journal Article
Bibliography: Brandenburg, Sieghard, and William Drabkin. “Viewpoint: On Beethoven Scholars and Beethoven’s Sketches.” 19th-Century Music 2, no. 3 (1979): 270–76. https://doi.org/10.2307/3519805.
Footnote:      1. Sieghard Brandenburg and William Drabkin, "Viewpoint: On Beethoven Scholars and Beethoven’s Sketches," 19th-Century Music 2, no. 3 (1979): 270, https://doi.org/10.2307/3519805.
     2. Brandenburg and Drabkin, "Viewpoint: On Beethoven Scholars and Beethoven’s Sketches," 274. 
* Note:

(1) Opt for the DOI rather than a link to the library's catalogue or a URL copied from the address bar of a browser (CMOS18 14.72).
(2) Do not include the access date unless the date of publication cannot be determined from the source or required by your instructor, publisher or discipline (CMOS18 13.15). When included, place it before the DOI (CMOS18 14.73).
(3) If no year of publication can be ascertained, insert n.d. in the place of the year (CMOS18 14.44) and add an access date (CMOS18 13.15).

The citation elements and formats for databases and websites are similar to that for books.

Elements of a reference entry citation in Notes and Bibliography style

Article in Grove Music Online (As a Signed Article)
Bibliography: Kerman, Joseph, Alan Tyson, Scott G. Burnham, Douglas Johnson, and William Drabkin. "Beethoven, Ludwig van." In Grove Music Online. Oxford University Press, 2001. https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.40026.
Footnote:

     1. Joseph Kerman et al., "Beethoven, Ludwig van," in Grove Music Online (Oxford University Press, 2001), published January 20, 2001, https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.40026.
     2. Kerman et al., "Beethoven." 
* Note:

(1) Opt for the DOI rather than a link to the library's catalogue or a URL copied from the address bar of a browser (CMOS18 13.8).
(2) Do not include the access date unless the date of publication or revision for the cited entry cannot be determined from the source (CMOS18 14.131).
(3) If no date of publication or revision can be ascertained, insert the access date (CMOS18 14.132).
Article in Grove Music Online (As an Alphabetical Entry)
Bibliography: (Do not include it in the bibliography. CMOS18 14.131)
Footnote:

     1. Grove Music Online, "Beethoven, Ludwig van," by Joseph Kerman et al., January 20, 2001,  https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.40026.
     2. Grove Music Online, "Beethoven."
* Note:

(1) If citing as an unsigned alphabetical entry, cite under the title of the reference work (CMOS18 14.131).
(2) Opt for the DOI rather than a link to the library's catalogue or a URL copied from the address bar of a browser (CMOS18 13.8).
(3) Do not include the access date unless the date of publication or revision for the cited entry cannot be determined from the source (CMOS18 14.131).
(4) If no date of publication or revision can be ascertained, insert the access date (CMOS18 14.132).
(5) For details about citing a signed article in a reference work, see example above and CMOS18 14.132.
Article in MGG Online (As a Signed Article)
Bibliography: Schubert, Giselher. "Hindemith, Paul." In MGG Online. Bärenreiter-Verlag, 2021. https://www.mgg-online.com/mgg/stable/395530.
Footnote:      1. Schubert, "Hindemith, Paul," in MGG Online (Bärenreiter-Verlag, 2021), published June 2021, https://www.mgg-online.com/mgg/stable/395530.
     2. Schubert, "Hindemith."
* Note: (1) Opt for the DOI rather than a link to the library's catalogue or a URL copied from the address bar of a browser (CMOS18 13.8).
(2) Do not include the access date unless the date of publication or revision for the cited entry cannot be determined from the source (CMOS18 14.131).
(3) If no date of publication or revision can be ascertained, insert the access date (CMOS18 14.132).

For details, please refer to CMOS18 14.103-105.

Elements of a webpage citation in Notes and Bibliography style

Webpage within a Website
Bibliography: Phamox Music. "African Musicians." Phamox Music: Music is Life and Life is Music!!! Accessed November 18, 2022. https://phamoxmusic.com/category/musicians/african-musicians.
Footnote:      1. "African Musicians," Phamox Music: Music is Life and Life is Music!!!, Phamox Music, accessed November 18, 2022,  https://phamoxmusic.com/category/musicians/african-musicians.
     2. "African Musicians."
* Note: If no date of publication or revision can be determined from the website, insert the access date (CMOS18 14.104).
Wikipedia Entry
Bibliography: Wikipedia. "Inuit Throat Singing." Last modified September 11, 2022. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inuit_throat_singing.
Footnote:      1. Wikipedia, "Inuit Throat Singing," last modified September 11, 2022, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inuit_throat_singing.
     2. Wikipedia, "Inuit Throat Singing."
* Note: (1) Wikipedia is treated as the title of the website rather than a conventional encyclopedia. Thus, it is set in roman, not italics.
(2) The date of modification is indicated at the bottom of the wiki page and is therefore included in the citation. No access date is needed (CMOS18 14.131).
Blog Post
Bibliography: Oteri, Frank J. "Tania León: The Rhythm of Life." NewMusicBox (blog). New Music USA, December 7, 2022. https://newmusicusa.org/nmbx/tania-leon-the-rhythm-of-life.
Footnote:      1. Frank J. Oteri, "Tania León: The Rhythm of Life," NewMusicBox (blog), New Music USA, December 7, 2022, https://newmusicusa.org/nmbx/tania-leon-the-rhythm-of-life.
     2. Oteri, "Tania León."
* Note: (1) Title of the post in quotation marks.
(2) Title of the blog in italics, then add blog in parentheses.
(3) If the blog is part of a larger publication, include the name of that publication.
(4) Include the date of the post.
(5) For details about citing a blog post, see CMOS18 14.105.

Citing scores is similar to that for books.

Elements of a score citation in Notes and Bibliography system (CMOS18)

Score
Bibliography: Beethoven, Ludwig van. Diabelli-Variationen, Opus 120. Fingering by Walter Georgii. Henle, 1989.
Footnote:      1. Ludwig van Beethoven, Diabelli-Variationen, Opus 120 (Henle, 1989).
     2. Beethoven, Diabelli-Variationen, 1989.
Online Score from a Database
Bibliography: Takemitsu, Toru. Stanza I (1969). Universal Edition, 1973. Music Online: Classical Scores Library. 
Footnote:      1. Toru Takemitsu, Stanza I (1969) (Universal Edition, 1973). Music Online: Classical Scores Library.
     2. Takemitsu, Stanza I, 1973.
* Note: When the source is available through a subscription or library account, name the database in lieu of a URL (CMOS18 13.10).
Online Score from IMSLP
Bibliography: Boulanger, Lili. Cortège: Piano et violon. Ricordi, 1919. https://s9.imslp.org/files/imglnks/usimg/d/d2/IMSLP435484-PMLP707819-Cortege.pdf. 
Footnote:      1. Lili Boulanger, Cortège: Piano et violon (Ricordi, 1919). https://s9.imslp.org/files/imglnks/usimg/d/d2/IMSLP435484-PMLP707819-Cortege.pdf.
     2. Boulanger, Cortège: Piano et violon, 1919.
Score from Complete Works
Bibliography:

Busnoys, Antoine. "Missa l'homme armé." In The Latin-Texted Works, edited by Richard Taruskin, part 2 of Antoine Busnoys Collected Works. Broude Trust, [2000?].
Footnote:

     1. Antoine Busnoys, "Missa l'homme armé," in The Latin-Texted Works, ed. Richard Taruskin, part 2, Antoine Busnoys Collected Works (Broude Trust, [2000?]), 110-160.

     2.Busnoys, "Missa l'home armé," 130.
* Note:

A score from a complete work edition (i.e. specific parts of individual volumes of multivolume books) follows essentially the same style as a chapter of a book (CMOS18 14.22).

Depending on the purpose of the sound recording citation, you may put the composer or the performer as the author. Below are some of the specific elements that should be included (where applicable). For details, please refer to CMOS18 14.161 and 14.163.

  1. Name of the composer, performer, etc. and their designation such as vocalist, conductor, or director as appropriate
  2. Title of the individual track in double quotations
  3. Title of the album in italics
  4. Names of additional contributors
  5. Copyright/publication/release date
  6. Location of the recording or performance
  7. Medium/format, duration of the recording

Elements of a sound recording citation in Notes and Bibliography style

CD (For a Whole Recording)
Bibliography: Britten, Benjamin. Peter Grimes. Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Benjamin Britten. With Peter Pears, Claire Watson, James Pease, David Kelly, et al. Recorded December 1958. Decca 467 682-2, 2001, 2 compact discs.
Footnote:      1. Benjamin Britten, Peter Grimes, with Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, conducted by Benjamin Britten, and Peter Pears, Claire Watson, James Pease, David Kelly, et al. (vocalists), recorded December 1958, Decca 467 682-2, 2001, 2 compact discs.
     2. Britten, Peter Grimes, 1958.
* Note: Here Benjamin Britten is both the composer and conductor, hence appearing twice in the citation.
LP (Individual Track Featuring the Composer)
Bibliography: Shostakovich, Dmitry. "Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 99." On Midori, Claudio Abbado, Berlin Philharmonic: Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35, Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op 99. Berlin Philharmonic, Midori Goto, violinist, and Claudio Abbado, conductor. Recorded 1998. Sony Classical 827969308820, 2004. LP.
Footnote:      1. Dmitry Shostakovich, "Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 99," on Midori, Claudio Abbado, Berlin Philharmonic: Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35, Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 99, Berlin Philharmonic, Midori Goto, violinist, and Claudio Abbado, conductor, recorded 1998, Sony Classical 827969308820, 2004, LP.
     2. Shostakovich, "Violin Concerto," 1998.
Streaming Audio (Individual Track Featuring the Performer)
Bibliography: Goto, Midori, violinist. "Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 99," by Dmitry Shostakovich. On Midori, Claudio Abbado, Berlin Philharmonic: Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35, Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 99. Recorded 1998. Sony Classical 827969308820, 2004, streaming audio. Naxos Music Library.
Footnote:      1. Midori Goto, violinist, "Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 99," by Dmitry Shostakovich, on Midori, Claudio Abbado, Berlin Philharmonic: Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D Major Op. 35, Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 99, recorded 1998, Sony Classical 827969308820, 2004, streaming audio, Naxos Music Library.
     2. Goto, "Violin Concerto," 1998.
* Note: (1) List the service or the file format (CMOS18 14.163).
(2) When the source is available through a subscription or library account, name the database in lieu of a URL (CMOS18 13.10).

Here are some examples for your quick reference. For details, please refer to CMOS18 14.165.Elements of a video recording citation in Notes and Bibliography system (CMOS18)

DVD
Bibliography: Tan, Dun. Tea: A Mirror of Soul: Opera in Three Acts. Directed by Pierre Audi. Bass-Baritone Chorus of the Netherlands Opera, NHK Symphony Orchestra. With Haijing Fu, Nancy Allen Lundy, Christopher Gillett, Ning Liang, and Stephen Richardson (vocalists). Recorded October 2002. Deutsche Grammophone, 2004. DVD, 148 min.
Footnote:      1. Dun Tan, Tea: A Mirror of Soul: Opera in Three Acts, directed by Pierre Audi, Bass-Baritone Chorus of the Netherlands Opera, NHK Symphony Orchestra, with Haijing Fu, Nancy Allen Lundy, Christopher Gillett, Ning Liang, and Stephen Richardson (vocalists), recorded October 2002 (Deutsche Grammophone, 2004), DVD, 148 min.
     2. Tan, Tea, 2002.
Streaming Video
Bibliography: World Music. Musicians in Brazil (1). Directed by Chronis Pechlivanidis and Angeliki Aristomenopoulou. Onos Productions, 2008. Streaming video, 50:24. medici.tv.
Footnote:      1. World Music. Musicians in Brazil (1), directed by Chronis Pechlivanidis and Angeliki Aristomenopoulou. Onos Productions, 2008, streaming video, 50:24, medici.tv.
     2. World Music, 2008.
* Note: (1) List the service or the file format at the end (CMOS18 14.163).
(2) When the source is available through a subscription or library account, name the database in lieu of a URL (CMOS18 13.10).
YouTube Video
Bibliography: Javanese Gamelan Ensemble. "Pelog Barang - Singa Nebah (The Pouncing Lion)." Northern Illinois University School of Music. Posted on January 24, 2014. YouTube video, 03:01. https://youtu.be/p3HwqqiVxbE.
Footnote:      1. Javanese Gamelan Ensemble, "Pelog Barang - Singa Nebah (The Pouncing Lion)," Northern Illinois University School of Music, posted on January 24, 2014, YouTube video, 03:01, https://youtu.be/p3HwqqiVxbE.
     2. Javanese Gamelan Ensemble, "Pelog Barang - Singa Nebah," 2014.

Generally, cite the sound recording as usual and add "Liner notes" at the end (CMOS18 FAQ). For a signed liner note, cite by the author's name, followed by the title (if applicable).

Elements of a liner notes citation in Notes and Bibliography style

Unsigned Liner Notes
Bibliography: Ravel, Gershwin: Piano concertos. Dennis Kozhukhin, pianist, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Kazuki Yamada, conductor. Recorded July 2017. Pentatone PTC 5186 620, 2018, SACD. Liner notes.
Footnote:      1. Ravel, Gershwin: Piano concertos, with Dennis Kozhukhin (piano), Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, conducted by Kazuki Yamada, recorded July 2017, Pentatone PTC 5186 620, 2018, SACD. Liner notes, [5].
     2. Ravel, Gershwin: Piano concertos, [8].
* Note: The liner notes booklet here is unpaged. In this case, count the pages, cite the page number as usual and put brackets around it.
Signed Liner Notes
Bibliography: Row, Grace. "To the Edge of Dream." On To the Edge of Dream: Esa-Pekka Salonen: Messiaen, Takemitsu, Lutoslawski. 1986. Sony Classical SMK 53473, 1993, compact disc. Liner notes.
Footnote:      1. Grace Row, "To the Edge of Dream," on To the Edge of Dream: Esa-Pekka Salonen: Messiaen, Takemitsu, Lutoslawski, 1986, Sony Classical SMK 53473, 1993, compact disc, liner notes, 4.
     2. Row, "To the Edge of Dream," 5.
Online Signed Liner Notes
Bibliography: Niels, Elger. "Sergei Rachmaninov," by Sergei Rachmaninov. On Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concertos 1 & 4. Alexander Ghindin, pianist, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, and Vladimir Ashkenazy, conductor. Recorded March 2001. Ondine ODE977-2, 2001, streaming audio. Naxos Music Library. Liner notes.
Footnote:      1. Elger Niels, "Sergei Rachmaninov," by Sergei Rachmaninov, on Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concertos 1 & 4, with Alexander Ghindin (piano), Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Vladimir Ashkenazy, recorded March 2001, Ondine ODE977-2, 2001, streaming audio, Naxos Music Library, liner notes, 3-4.
     2. Niels, "Sergei Rachmaninov," 9.

As stated in the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)'s position statement, AI tools do not hold authorship as it cannot take responsibility for the work they generated. Yet, it is still necessary to credit if using AI-generated text in papers or assignments. Cite it in a footnote/endnote, but not in the bibliography unless a publicly available link is provided. For details, please refer to CMOS18 14.112.

Elements of an AI-generated text citation in Notes and Bibliography system (CMOS18)
 

When the prompt has been included in the body of the paper

Bibliography:

(Do not include it in the bibliography.)

Footnote:

     1. Text generated by ChatGPT, OpenAI, October 29, 2024, https://chatgpt.com/share/67212589-eb04-800d-a76c-e7f81ed48d9f.

* Notes: 

(1) The generative AI tool, e.g. ChatGPT, appears as the "author" in the citation.

(2) The company that developed the generative AI tool, e.g. OpenAI, takes the place as the "publisher."

(3) The date is when the text was generated by AI.

(4) Include the unique shared link / URL created by the generative AI tool for that particular conversation.

When the prompt has not been included in the body of the paper

Bibliography:

(Do not include it in the bibliography.)

Footnote:

     1. Response to "List all countries in Southeast Asia that have been colonized by Britain," Gemini, Google, October 29, 2024, https://g.co/gemini/share/731a532fd7b4.
* Notes: If the prompt is not included in-text, include it in the footnote. If multiple prompts, summarize them.

When the AI-generated text has been edited / adapted when incorporating into the paper

Bibliography:

(Do not include it in the bibliography.)

Footnote:

     1. Response to "List all countries in Southeast Asia that have been colonized by Britain," ChatGPT, OpenAI, October 29, 2024, https://chatgpt.com/share/67212589-eb04-800d-a76c-e7f81ed48d9f, edited for style and content.

* Notes: 

Add at the end of the footnote "edited for style and content."

CMOS18 suggests citing archival materials the same way as that for personal papers and other historical manuscripts (CMOS18 14.119). For more examples, see CMOS18 14.120.
Elements of an archival material

A textual item in a fonds
Bibliography:  Julius Schloss Collection. McGill University Marvin Duchow Music Library.
Footnote: 

     1. Julius Schloss to Georg Olms Verlag, item S1.1/F5 SC306, Correspondence to Publishers, Julius Schloss Collection, McGill University Marvin Duchow Music Library.

     2. Concert at the Goethe Haus Montreal, Karl Steiner, 28.10.1966, item S4.2/F50 SC311, Concerts & Competitions, 1924–1972, Julius Schloss Collection.
* Note: 

(1) For the bibliography, when citing more than one item from a fonds, entries are listed under the name of the fonds as shown in the example above.  However, when only one item from a fonds is cited, then the entry will begin with the item (CMOS18 14.128). 230).

(2) When citing another item from the same fonds (as in the case of footnote no. 2), information of the fonds can be shortened since it has appeared in a previous footnote.
A non-textual item in a fonds
Bibliography:  Hellmuth Wolff Organ Collection. McGill University Marvin Duchow Music Library.
Footnote: 

     1. Organpipes, series 13, Recordings, Hellmuth Wolff Organ Collection, McGill University Marvin Duchow Music Library.

     2. Opus 14, May 1973, series 1 box 8, Organ Plans, Hellmuth Wolff Organ Collection.

Location and contacts

Profile Photo
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Marvin Duchow Music Library
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4695
Website
Subjects: Music

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Katie Lai
Contact:
Marvin Duchow Music Library
514-398-4695
Subjects: Music

McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice