PHIL 327 Philosophy of Race

Search across Adam Matthew databases held by McGill Library.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Resource that brings together Gale's digital archives in a single cross-search interface. Content includes monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, and maps, and permits term frequency and term cluster searching.

Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1994.

These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events give unprecedented access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation.
This resource is in five sections: 1948-1966, 1967-1975, 1976-1980, 1981-1988 (Resistance, Sanctions and Reform), and 1989-1994 (Negotiation, Liberation and Democracy).

Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

A cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles and reference books.

Digital collection of primary sources containing manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, and artwork exploring the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, as well as the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge.
The content of this database is available for text-mining through Gale Digital Scholar Lab

Contains access to original British source material for teaching and research on the history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub