Guides: HIST 356 Medicine in the Medieval West: Reference works

Medical/disease terminology

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
Good source for information on medical terminology.

If you can't find a term in it, or need more information, try Oxford Reference Online (see below) or Credo Reference.

Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease
- This link opens in a new window
Descriptions of major historical and modern diseases.

Biographical sources

Dictionary of Medical Biography
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of biographies of medical practitioners, primarily in the western medical tradition.
A Dictionary of the History of Medicine (print book).
- This link opens in a new window
Ed. Anton Sebastian. New York: Parthenon, 1999. Detailed entries of individuals and events for a general audience. Osler Library Reference, folio WZ 13 S443d 1999

General background sources for history of medicine or medieval history

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on various aspects of medieval European history from 5th-15th centuries (ebook from Oxford University Press).
Oxford Reference Online
- This link opens in a new window

Searches multiple reference books at once, including the Oxford Companion to the Body and the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. TIP: Narrow down your search to a specific subject area or a specific reference book. Also another good sources for searching medical terminology.

Encyclopedia of Plague and Pestilence: From Ancient Times to the Present
- This link opens in a new window
(print book). Ed. George C. Kohn. New York: Facts on File, 2001. Osler Library, folio WA 13 E565 2001
Medieval Science, Techology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
(print book). Ed. Thomas Glick, Steven J. Livesey, and Faith Wallis. London: Routledge, 2005. Osler Library Reference, folio WZ 13 M4895 2005

Librarian

Mary Yearl

Email me

Subjects: History of medicine, Social studies of medicine

HIST 356 Medicine in the Medieval West

Medical/disease terminology

Biographical sources

General background sources for history of medicine or medieval history

Librarian

Need help? Ask us!