Guides: HIST 356 Medicine in the Medieval West: Article Indexes and Databases

History of medicine

Subject Catalogue of the History of Medicine and Related Subjects
(print book): Published by the Wellcome Library, includes items published between 1900-1978. Good to find earlier articles that may not be in HSTM.

LOCATORplus
Provides access to NLM bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials.
MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

International Medieval Bibliography
Up-to-date bibliography of journal articles and articles in essay collections and conference proceedings. Covers medieval Europe, Middle East, and North Africa from the years 300-1500. Very good for finding recent research. NOTE: limite to 3 simultaneous users so you may experience delays getting on.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Citations to books, articles, essays and conference proceedings dealing with the period from 400 to 1700.

Find more possibilities with the full Medieval European History subject guide from McGill.

Humanities Full Text (Wilson)
Wide range of historical material, including medieval history. Material published before 1984 can be found by selecting Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective in the database selection area.

Images from the History of Medicine
From the collection of the History of Medicine Division of the NLM.
Index of Medieval Medical Images
Digital images found in medieval medical manuscripts held in North American libraries.
Wellcome Images
TIP: Use Advanced Search to look specifically for historical images.