MECH 532 Aircraft Performance, Stability and Control

Coverage ranges from core disciplines such as electrical and electronic engineering, mechanical engineering and physics, to advanced materials, digital technology and environmental science, all of which have an ever-increasing, interactive role in modern air and spacecraft design.

This book presents the theoretical and application aspects of fluid mechanics, high-speed flows, aerodynamics, high-enthalpy flows, experimental methods, aircraft design, heat transfer, and wind engineering. The text comprehensively introduces the subject vocabulary of fluid mechanics for use in courses in engineering and the physical sciences. It provides a ready reference source for readers to learn essential concepts related to flow physics, rarefied, and stratified flows . It comprehensively covers topics such as laser Doppler anemometer, latent heat of fusion, and latent heat of vaporisation.

The two-volume Encyclopedia of Space Science and Technology represents an ambitious collection of the underlying physical principles of rockets, satellites, and space stations; what is known by astronomers about the sun, planets, galaxy, and universe; and the effect of the space environment on human and other biological systems.

Engineers need to acquire "Back-of-the-Envelope" survival skills to obtain rough quantitative answers to real-world problems, particularly when working on projects with enormous complexity and very limited resources.

Whether an airplane or a space shuttle, a flying machine requires advanced materials to provide a strong, lightweight body and a powerful engine that functions at high temperature. The Aerospace Materials Handbook examines these materials, covering traditional superalloys as well as more recently developed light alloys.

Aerospace project management has become a pathway for success in harsh space environments. This comprehensive book offers a step-by-step approach emphasizing the applied techniques and tools, and is a prime resource for program managers, technical leads, systems engineers and principle payload leads.

The handbook is a completely multi-disciplinary reference book that covers, in an in-depth fashion, the fields of satellite telecommunications, Earth observation, remote sensing, satellite navigation, geographical information systems, and geosynchronous meteorological systems. It covers current practices and designs as well as advanced concepts and future systems. It provides a comparative analysis of the common technologies and design elements for satellite application bus structures, thermal controls, power systems, stabilization techniques, telemetry, command and control (TTC), and orbital configurations.

In the past decade, the field of small satellites has expanded the space industry in a powerful way. Hundreds, indeed thousands, of these innovative and highly cost-efficient satellites are now being launched from Earth to establish low-cost space systems. These smallsats are engaged in experiments and prototype testing, communications services, data relay, internet access, remote sensing, defense and security related services, and more. This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of this exciting new field. It covers the technology, applications and services, design and manufacture, launch arrangements, ground systems, and economic and regulatory arrangements surrounding small satellites.

The Handbook of Space Technology presents a detailed insight into the fascinating world of space for the first time in the English language. Authored by over 70 leading experts from universities, research institutions and the space industry, this comprehensive handbook describes the processes and methodologies behind the development, construction, operation and utilization of space systems, presenting the profound changes that have occurred in recent years in the engineering, materials, processes and even politics associated with space technologies and utilization.