Guides: Undergraduate Medical Education: Medical Textbooks

Databases & Platforms

Many of the medical databases we subscribe to offer e-versions of textbooks. There are also open access options online.

AccessMedicine
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online medical resource providing point of care information for residents, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and physicians. Contains videos, self-assessment, medical textbooks and diagnostic texts and tools, that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care.
ClinicalKey
- This link opens in a new window

NCBI Bookshelf
Open access books from the NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)

LWW Health Library
Clinical and educational content. Provides interactive access and simple search capabilities to essentials texts, as well as multimedia content including procedural videos, images, real-life case studies and quiz banks.
Unlimited simultaneous users.

Suggested Medical Textbooks by Course

AFMC Primer on Population Health by Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada
A virtual textbook on Public Health concepts for clinicians
Evidence for Health by Anne Andermann
ISBN: 9781139604475
Publication Date: 2012-12-11

Principles of pulmonary medicine by Steven E Weinberger, Barbara A Cockrill, Jess Mandel
ISBN: 9780323880565
Publication Date: 2024
Pulmonary physiology by Michael G Levitzky
ISBN: 9781264270057
Publication Date: 2022

Pathophysiology of Heart Disease by Leonard S. Lilly
ISBN: 9781975120597
Publication Date: 2020-08-05
Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology, 10th Edition by David Harris, Lois Jane Heller, David E Mohrman
ISBN: 9781264617616
Publication Date: 2023-06-09

Photographic Atlas of Anatomy by Johannes W. Rohen; Chihiro Yokochi; Elke Lutjen-Drecoll
ISBN: 9781975151348
Publication Date: 2021-04-15
Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley II
ISBN: 9781975174248
Publication Date: 2023-01-12
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley II
ISBN: 9781975138707
Publication Date: 2020-04-15
Gray's Anatomie Pour Les étudiants by Richard L. Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; A. H. G. Mitchell; Fabrice Duparc (Translator); Jacques Duparc (Translator); John Scott & Co; Dorothée Coquerel-Béghin (Translator); Jean-Michel Muller (Translator); Anne-Claire Tobenas-Dujardin (Translator)
ISBN: 9782294718854
Publication Date: 2012-01-01

The Developing Human by Keith L. Moore; T. V. N. Persaud; Mark G. Torchia
ISBN: 9780323611541
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Embryologie médicale. by Thomas Sadler, Bertrand Bloch
ISBN: 9782361100889
Publication Date: 2017
Embryologie et histologie humaines by Gérard Tachdjian, Sophie Brisset, Anne-Marie Courtot, Damien Schoëvaëart, Lucie Tosca
ISBN: 9782294737800
Publication Date: 2016

Gartner and Hiatt's Atlas and Text of Histology by Leslie P. Gartner; Lisa M. J. Lee
ISBN: 9781975164256
Publication Date: 2022-04-26
Junqueira's basic histology : text and atlas by Anthony L Escher
ISBN: 9781264932146
Publication Date: 2024

Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Edition by Todd W. Vanderah
ISBN: 9781260463309
Publication Date: 2023-11-21

Robbins and Kumar Basic Pathology by Vinay Kumar (Editor); Abul K. Abbas (Editor); Jon C. Aster (Editor); Andrea T. Deyrup (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323790185
Publication Date: 2022-12-05

How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
ISBN: 9781119484745
Publication Date: 2019-05-06
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: Essentials of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, Third Edition by Gordon Guyatt
ISBN: 9780071794152
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
Look It Up! by Pierre Pluye; Roland Grad; Julie Barlow
ISBN: 9780773551367
Publication Date: 2017-10-12

Clinical epidemiology: the essentials by Grant S. Fletcher
ISBN: 9781975109561
Publication Date: 2021

Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology by Patrice M. WEISS; AnnaMarie Connolly; Robert Casanova; Alice Goepfert; Nancy A. Hueppchen
ISBN: 9781975180577
Publication Date: 2023-07-22

Clerkship Resources

Textbook of Family Medicine by Robert E. Rakel; David P. Rakel (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323239905
Publication Date: 2015-02-20

Step-Up to Medicine by Steven Agabegi
ISBN: 9781975103613
Publication Date: 2019-05-08
The Washington manual of medical therapeutics by Washington University Department of Medicine
ISBN: 9781469841304
Publication Date: 2014

Tintinali's emergency medicine : a comprehensive study guide by Judith E. Tintinalli, J Stephan Stapczynski, O John Ma, Donald M Yealy, Garth D Meckler, David M Cline
ISBN: 9781260019940
Publication Date: 2020

Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition by Jeffrey B. Halter; Joseph G. Ouslander; Stephanie Studenski; Kevin P. High; Sanjay Asthana; Mark A. Supiano; Christine S. Ritchie; Kenneth Schmader
ISBN: 9781260464450
Publication Date: 2022-06-13
via AccessMedicine
Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, Eighth Edition by Robert L. Kane; Joseph G. Ouslander; Barbara Resnick; Michael L. Malone
ISBN: 9781259860515
Publication Date: 2017-09-28
Clinical Manual of Geriatric Medicine by Edmund Lonergan
ISBN: 9780838510940
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
Geriatrics at Your Fingertips by David B. Reuben
ISBN: 9781886775282
Publication Date: 2013-05-15
Physiological Basis of Aging and Geriatrics by Paola S. Timiras (Editor)
ISBN: 9780849373053
Publication Date: 2007-08-16
The Care of the Older Person by Ronald Caplan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781003344476
Publication Date: 2022-12-27

NMS Obstetrics and Gynecology by Samantha M. Pfeifer
ISBN: 9781608315765
Publication Date: 2011-10-06
Blueprints Obstetrics and Gynecology by Tamara L. Callahan; Aaron B. Caughey
ISBN: 9781451117028
Publication Date: 2013-02-05
Case files. Obstetrics and gynecology by Eugene C Toy, Patti Jayne Ross
ISBN: 9781260468793
Publication Date: 2022

The psychiatric interview by Daniel J Carlat
ISBN: 9781496358745
Publication Date: 2017
Psychiatric interviewing : the art of understanding by Shawn C Shea
ISBN: 9781437737820
Publication Date: 2017
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Kaplan & Sadock's Concise Textbook of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry by Benjamin J Sadock, Virginia Alcott Sadock
ISBN: 9781451157819
Publication Date: 2011
Prescriber's Guide by Stephen M. Stahl
ISBN: 9781108921275
Publication Date: 2021-10-19

Essential surgery : problems, diagnosis, and management by Clive R G Quick, Suzanne Biers, Tan H Arulampalam
ISBN: 9780702076329
Publication Date: 2020
Essentials of General Surgery by James C. Hebert; Richard M. Bell; Merril T. Dayton; Peter F. Lawrence
ISBN: 9780781784955
Publication Date: 2012-10-11
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, 15th Edition by Gerard M. Doherty
ISBN: 9781260122213
Publication Date: 2020-04-16

Anatomy

Anatomy.TV
- This link opens in a new window
Interactive 3D Atlas and real-time 3D modules displaying all anatomical regions. Covers dissections, clinical and physiology, muscle function and assessments.

Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard L. Drake (Editor); A. Wayne Vogl (Editor); Adam W. M. Mitchell (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323934237
Publication Date: 2024-01-01
Understanding Anaomy and Physiology by Gale Sloan Thompson
ISBN: 9780803643918
Publication Date: 2015-01-16

Medical Dictionaries and Guidebooks

A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia
From Medline Plus, the A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Oxford Concise Medical Dictionary by Jonathan Law, E A Martin
Call Number: R121
ISBN: 9780191873768
Publication Date: 2020
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by Mosby
ISBN: 9780323222051
Publication Date: 2016-05-16
Medical Abbreviations and Normal Ranges by Helen Jones
ISBN: 9780429434945
Publication Date: 2019-04-09

Physical Examination

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S Bickley, Peter G Szilagyi, Richard M Hoffman, Rainier P Soriano
ISBN: 9781975109950
Publication Date: 2021

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Resource delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.