Guides: Undergraduate Medical Education: Medical Databases

Core Medical Databases

PubMed (McGill)
Contains 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites and to the McGill Find Full Text linkresolver.
MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
- This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

Not sure what the difference is between PubMed and Medline. Find out here, on the Health Sciences FAQ!

Embase Classic + Embase (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Embase Classic 1947-1973.
Cochrane Library
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus (Elsevier)
- This link opens in a new window
Curated abstract and citation database, updated daily with enriched data and linked scholarly content for Health, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Worldwide peer-reviewed literature includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Chemical Indexes include: Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present, plus Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840), and Index Chemicus (1993-present).

Drug Information

CPS (Formerly RxTx)
- This link opens in a new window
Drug Product Database (Health Canada)

Medical Letter
- This link opens in a new window
ePocrates RX

Point of Care Tools

DynaMed Plus (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care. Review of medical literature by physician and specialist staff provides analysis, synthesis and guidance at point of care.
UpToDate
- This link opens in a new window
Point of care clinical decision support resource covering 25 specialties.
CPS (Formerly RxTx)
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library
- This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey
- This link opens in a new window
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
- This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence, clinicians can search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Point of Care Tools Workshop
Handout that is used during the POC Tools Workshop in your first year.
Atelier POC - exercice
Document utilisé lors de l'atelier sur les outils POC au cours de votre première année.

Mobile Applications

Many health sciences point of care tools and some of the general databases have mobile applications that make it easy for you to access material on the go. Find out more about these apps and get information on how to use them by consulting the following guide:

Health Sciences Mobile Apps and Technology Guide
by Andrea Quaiattini Last Updated Sep 13, 2024 17629 views this year

Librarian

Eleni Philippopoulos

she/her/elle

Email me

Getting Started Links and Tips

HealthLibraryStarter
Getting started with the library and mobile apps for Health students.