Step 2: Identify Databases to Search
Databases are powerful tools for finding scholarly literature on your topic. When researching a health sciences question, databases provide access to records for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book chapters, theses, and more.
Journal articles are the primary source of research in many health sciences disciplines. These articles are indexed in databases like MEDLINE, which store records containing details such as the article title, abstract, citation information, and more. However, many databases, including MEDLINE, do not provide full-text access—rather, they index records that describe the content.
When starting your research, it's important to select the most appropriate database(s) for your subject or discipline and to be aware of the particularities and functionalities of each individual database and platform. For example, you can search MEDLINE through PubMed or through Ovid, and the way you search them is quite different.
Please note: While Google Scholar is a useful starting point for your research, it should not be your final destination. Check out this FAQ page to learn why.
Databases are organized collections of resources used to store and retrieve information. A platform hosts databases and provides access to the information they contain.
For example, EBSCO is a platform that provides access to the CINAHL database.
Now that you understand the difference between a database and a platform, let’s talk about two tools you might have heard of: Worldcat.org and Sofia.
Worldcat.org, different from Worldcat (see explanation of definition on this FAQ page), is the central database for McGill University's library holdings, including both print and electronic books and journals, article-level information from various databases, and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Sofia is the shared, bilingual search tool used by 18 academic libraries across Quebec. It allows you to explore and access the resources available in these libraries. For more information on how to navigate Sofia, visit the Introducing Sofia: the Shared Library Search Tool LibGuide.
Campbell Collaboration Online Training. Database vs. Platform.
This table lists some of the differences between the core databases used in health sciences.
| Database (Platform) | Subject coverage | Publication types included | Dates covered |
| MEDLINE (Ovid) / PubMed | Primary biomedical database for health care research; we recommend searching MEDLINE on the Ovid platform (enhanced options for searching) or via PubMed (free platform) | Journal articles, editorials | 1946 to present |
| CINAHL (EBSCOhost) | Extensive coverage of nursing and allied health, including nursing and rehabilitation journals not covered by MEDLINE | Journal articles, editorials, trade magazines | 1937 to present |
| CENTRAL (Cochrane Library) | CENTRAL is a sub-database (identified as Trials) in the Cochrane Library and contains records of randomized and quasi-randomized studies. The majority of the records come from MEDLINE and Embase but records from CINAHL and KoreaMed are also included, along with trial records from ClinicalTrials.gov, ICTRP, and additional records from handsearching and those flagged in the Cochrane Review Groups' Specialized Registers. | Journal articles, records from clinical trial registries | Earliest available to present |
| Embase Classic + Embase (Ovid) | European coverage in biomedicine, rehabilitation, pharmacology | Journal articles, editorials, conferences | 1947 to present |
| Global Index Medicus (WHO) | Allows you to cross-search regional databases covering low and middle income countries | Journal articles | Earliest available to present |
| PsycINFO (Ovid) | Excellent resource for research on psychological, social, behavioural, and mental health questions | Journal articles, books, book chapters, & dissertations | 1806 to present |
| Scopus | Multidisciplinary citation database; "largest database" of peer-reviewed article records covering the arts, medicine, science, social sciences, and technology | Journal articles, books, conference proceedings |
1788 to present Cited references: 1970 to present |
| Web of Science Core Collection | Multidisciplinary citation database; McGill coverage includes the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900- (SCI-EXPANDED), Social Sciences Citation Index 1956- (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975- (A&HCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science 1900- (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities 1900- (CPCI-SSH), and the Emerging Sources Citation Index 2015- (ESCI) | Journal articles, conference proceedings | 1900 to present |
Please note: While this guide is managed by the Schulich Librarians, the contents of the guide were developed in collaboration with Yvon-Tani Jackson, MISt student (2026).
McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
