Architecture by style

Sources for Background Information

Guides and Handbooks

• Histoire mondiale de l'architecture et de l'urbanisme modernes
  NA642 R3 v. 1-3
• History of modern architecture
  NA642 B413 1971
• Modern Architecture
  Serves as a concise historical guide to modern architecture.
  NA680 C593 2002 (Ref)
• Modern Architecture
  v. 1 covers 1851-1919; v. 2 covers 1920-1945.
  folio NA645 F73 1981 v. 1-2

Encyclopaedias, Dictionaries, Glossaries

• 100 Contemporary Architects
  Lists contemporary architects and gives examples of their work.
  folio NA680 J5579 2008 v. 1-2 (Ref)
• Dictionary of Art - Oxford Art Online
  (includes Grove Art Online)
• Encyclopedia of Modern Architecture
  NA31 H3713 1964 (Ref)

Core and Additional Databases

• ARTstor (image database)
  online via McGill Library
• Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
• Bibliography of the History of Art
  Print & online via McGill Library
• British Humanities Index
  online via McGill Library
• RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online (formerly API)
  Z5941 A7x (Index Stand) & online via McGill Library
• Web of Science (ISI)
  online via McGill Library
• World Architecture Index: A Guide to Illustrations
  NA202 T4 1991 (Ref)

Selected Internet Sites

• Architecture Week. Check their 'Topics Index' on the left side bar.
• The Great Buildings Collection. Covers current and historical architecture, provides biographical information on architects.

Other Resources

Bibliographies

• Modern Architecture of the 17th and 18th Centuries: Monographs
  Z5941.37 V36 1982 (Ref)
• Modern Architecture of the 19th Century: Monographs
  Z5941.395 V38 1983 (Ref)
• Modern Architecture of the 20th Century
  Z5941.5 V36 1983 (Ref)
• Sources of Modern Architecture: A Bibliography is divided into three sections: biographical bibliography, subject bibliography (organized into Modern Architecture; Architectural Theory; Aesthetics, Architecture and Society), and national bibliography (organized by countries). The biographical section contains short synopses of the architects' life and work.
  Z5941 S48 1967 (Ref)
• Sources of Modern Architecture: A Critical Bibliography
  Z5941.5 S47 (Ref)