Architecture by style

Sources for Background Information

Guides and Handbooks

• The Architecture of the Renaissance
  NA510 B4713 v. 1-2
• Art in the Christian World 300-1500: A Handbook of Styles and Forms
  N7832 A78 1982 (Ref)
• Baroque Architecture
  NA590 N6 [1972]
• Gothic Architecture
  NA440 F683 [1962]
• Late Baroque and Rococo Architecture
  NA590 N63 [1973]
• The Renaissance from Brunelleschi to Michelangelo
  NA1115 R397 1997 (Ref)
• Ten Centuries of Architecture
  NA1023 T46 2001 (Ref) v. 1-6

Encyclopaedias and Dictionaries

• Dictionary of Art - Oxford Art Online
  (includes Grove Art Online)
• Dictionary of the Middle Ages
  D114 D5 1982 (Ref)
• Encyclopedia dell'arte medievale
  folio N5965 E5 1991 (Ref)
• Larousse Encyclopedia of Byzantine and Medieval Art
  N5970 H813 1963b (Ref)
• Lexikon des Mittelalters
  D114 L4 (McLennan Library Reference) Bd. 1-9
• New Catholic Encyclopedia
  BX841 N44 (McLennan Library Reference)

Core and Additional Databases, and Selected Journals

Indexes and Databases

• Art Abstracts
  Print (Art Index) & online via McGill Library
• ARTstor (image database)
  online via McGill Library
• Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
• Bibliography of the History of Art
  Print & online via McGill Library
• Index to Italian Architecture: A Guide to Key Monuments and Reproduction Sources
  NA1111 T4 1992 (Ref)
• International Medieval Bibliography
  CD-ROM (McLennan Library Reference)
• ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
  online via McGill Library
• RILA (International Repertory of the History of Art)
  Z5937 R55X (Ref, Index Stand) and CD-ROM (ask at the Blackader Reference Desk)
• Web of Science (ISI)
  online via McGill Library

Selected Internet Sites

• Looking at Buildings: Medieval Traditions
• Chartes: Cathedral of Notre Dame Image Database

Other Resources

Bibliographies

• Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History
  Z2016 R884 (McLennan Library Reference)
• Baroque Architecture: Books in the English Language
  Z5941.38 V35 1982 (Ref)
• British and Irish Architectural History: A Bibliography and Guide
  Z5944 G7 K34 (Ref)
• Cahiers de civilisation médievale (from 1969 special Bibliographie issue)
  CB3 C3 (McLennan Library)
• Castles: Monographs
  Z5943 C35 V36 1984 (Ref)
• Cathedrals: Monographs
  Z5943 C56 V358 1984 (Ref)
• Cathedrals: Monographs
  Z5943 C56 V358 1984 (Ref)
• Gothic Architecture: A List of Books in the English Language
  Z5941.35 V35 1982 (Ref)
• Medieval Studies: A Bibliographical Guide
  Z6203 C76 (McLennan Library Reference)
• Monographs on Church Architecture
  Z5943 C56 V37 1984 (Ref)
• Renaissance Architecture, a Bibliography of Books in the English Language
  Z5941.36 V35 1982 (Ref)
• Rococo Architecture: References in the English Language
  Z5941.39 V35 1982 (Ref)
• Romanesque Architecture: A Bibliography
  Z5941.34 D38 (Ref)
• Serial Bibliographies for Medieval Studies
  Z6203 R66 (Ref)

Biographical Dictionaries and Biographical Information

• Architector. The Lodge and Sketchbooks of Medieval Architects
  folio NA350 B83
• Artist Biographies Master Index
  N40 A78 1986 (Ref)
• Benezit. Dictionnaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs
  N40 B47 1999 (Ref) v. 1-14
• English Mediaeval Architects: A Biographical Dictionary Down to 1550
  NA996 H3 1984 (Ref)

Catalogues of Special Collections

• Catalogue of the RIBA British Architectural Library and the Architectural Publications Index (API)
  A freely accessible online catalog containing records for selective holdings in the British Architectural Library. The online version of the API, indexing over 300 periodicals (see a complete list), is accessible from the same resource. Coverage: selective for materials catalogued or indexed since the 1980's.
  Z5941 A7x (Index Stand) and online