African Studies

This new, greatly expanded edition of the original work (published in 1999) broadens the foundation provided by Africana. With entries ranging from the African ethnic groups to members of the Congressional Black Caucus, Africana, Second Edition, conveys the history and scope of cultural expression of people of African descent with unprecedented depth.

Provides ideas, concepts, discourses, and essays on the African religious tradition. Explores such topics as deities and divinities, the nature of humanity, the end of life, the conquest of fear, and the quest for attainment of harmony with nature and other humans.

The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries. Drawing on the work of over 300 scholars, this encyclopedia is a single reference for information on the historical, political, economic, and cultural relations between people of African descent and the rest of the world community.

This new set provides a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. The work describes and analyzes the many aspects of the history of Europe's expansion overseas into the Americas, Asia, Africa and the Pacific, beginning in the 15th century and the building and collapse of empires (Spanish, Portuguese, British, French, Dutch, German, American). Race relations in decolonized regions as well as current examples of continuing dependence by much of the developing world on Western nations are covered.

This substantial expansion and reworking of the classic Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara (1997) covers the entire continent, from the Europe-facing shores of the Mediterranean to the commercial bustle of Cape Town. Features hundreds of photographs, including five color inserts, plus maps, thematic outline, chronology, and appendix of ethnic and identity groups.

Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History combines the speed & flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.

This invaluable Dictionary provides an essential guide to the politics and economics of the African continent.

English-Swahili Swahili-English Immersive Dictionary is a comprehensive presentation of Swahili usual lexicon. Entries are presented in clusters, based on the connections between the words of the target language (Swahili) in terms of meaning or origin. This meaning-driven presentation allows target language terms that are relatively similar in meaning, and therefore easily confused, as well as terms derived from the same base, to appear together in parallel contrastive lines. The dictionary also presents key grammatical points of Swahili. The book is ideal for English-speaking learners of Swahili.

Swahili Grammar and Workbook provides a practical and comprehensive companion to Swahili grammar. Grammar points are followed by multiple examples and exercises, allowing students to consolidate and practice their learning. A wide range of communication-oriented exercises to reinforce learning and develop students' ability to use Swahili actively. Audio files to support pronunciation practice, clearly linked to relevant sections of the book and available for free download from the publisher's website. The book is suitable for use both as a companion reference text in language courses and as a standalone text in independent grammar classes.