African Studies

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1988: Sources from The National Archives, UK contains archival materials covering South African politics, trade relations, international opinion and humanitarian dilemmas against a backdrop of waning colonialism and mounting world condemnation held in the UK National Archives, UK..

Africa-Wide Information (EBSCO) combines bibliographic databases from around the world to offer unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African Studies. Covers millions of news articles, scholarly articles, books, reports, theses and grey literature.

Black Studies Center (ProQuest) consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. 

Historical Abstracts (ABC_Clio Information Services) indexes worldwide scholarship in history and the social sciences, covering topics from 1450 to the present.

Index Islamicus (Brill) indexes scholarly literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world.

Interrogating Colonial Documents and Narratives includes tools (books and videos) introducing key approaches and methodologies of working with colonial documents.

PAIS Index indexes journals and magazines related to global public policy and social issues. Includes PAIS Archive, a retrospective index of publications from 1915 - 1976.

Scopus is a major multidisciplinary database that includes backward and forward citation linking as well as citation counts.

World Heritage Sites (JSTOR) is made up of more than 86,000 objects in 30 sub-collections. The resource links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites.

African Arguments publishes analysis of African current affairs and politics from inside the continent and the diaspora.

AfricaRenewal Online (UN) program is produced by the Africa Section of the United Nations Department of Public Information, and provides up-to-date information and analysis of the major economic and development challenges facing Africa today.

African Online Digital Library (AODL) is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa that includes photographs, interviews, documents, full-text journals.

African Studies Virtual Library via Columbia University Libraries has, since 1997, served as the official WWW-Virtual Library guide for African Studies.

Eldis aims at sharing "the best in development policy, practice and research" selecting content from over 7,500 development organizations.

Good Governance Africa (GGA) is a research and advocacy organization with branches across Africa working towards "improving government performance across the continent."

South African History Online (SAHO) is committed to promoting history and critically engaging with African past through the building of a comprehensive online encyclopaedia and popular history programs on African history and culture.

The Conversation (Africa) is an independent source of news and views from the academic and research community, delivered direct to the public.