Guides: Dietetics and Human Nutrition: Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

A multidisciplinary or general database is one which covers a wide range of topics across multiple academic disciplines. You may want to use a multidisciplinary database if your topic is cross-disciplinary, or if you are not yet sure of the subject area into which your topic falls.

Suggested Databases

Web of Science: Large multidisciplinary database offering citation linking and citation counts.

Scopus: Large multidisciplinary science and social sciences database that is capable of backward and forward citation linking and includes citation counts.

Subject-Specific Databases

A subject-specific database focuses on a single discipline (e.g., Dietetics) or a group of related disciplines (e.g., Life Sciences, Health Sciences, & Medicine) and usually provide comprehensive coverage of that specific field. Using a subject-specific database is ideal if you know a particular subject area is appropriate for your search topic.

Suggested Databases

PubMed: Published by U.S. National Library of Medicine -includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines.

Cochrane Library: Contains independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.

FSTA Direct: An extensive collection of abstracts prepared from the world's food science, food technology and food-related human nutrition literature. Provides coverage from 1969 to the present.

MEDLINE (Ovid): Subjects covered include all aspects of clinical medicine, basic biomedical sciences, the health care system and clinical psychology.